Graham Cracker Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I am a decent cook, but I found this recipe super complicated without positive results. This cake just crumbled apart as I attempted to get it out of the pan. I decided I would make the icing and make cake pops out of it, but the icing didn't turn out well either. I ended up adding quite a bit more powdered sugar in order to get an icing consistency. Super disappointed and I will not attempt it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is my new favorite cake!! I did not try the caramel icing because I was afraid it would be too sweet so I opted for a butter cream cheese frosting instead. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryB
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
AMAZING RECIPE AND CAKE!!! We followed the directions to the tee. Took 45 min to bake, but turned out perfectly!! Make sure to have all your ingredients ready to go and refrigerated items at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made the cake part of this recipe and it turned out perfect. I made it in a 13x9 inch dish - it took about 35 mins bake time. This is a keeper for me - thank you!. I used the cake in a cake shooter with a caramel cream cheese filling. The graham cracker cake was exactly what I needed to make these wonderful. Thank you for sharing. I look forward to making this cake again with the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This cake was AMAZING!!! It was so light & moist, my most favourite cake now. It's not so hard to make, just need everything at room temp, & follow directions. So very worth it. Tips for icing the cake: Yes the cake is very delicate, so you want to make sure that your cake is cold before you ice it. Stick it in the fridge for a few hours, it will make the cake so much easier to work with. Also, if using a butter cream icing, make sure you whip it lots & that it's warm. Whip the icing every few minutes if needed, so it doesn't start to set on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Okay, WOW. I'm not a 'sweet' person by most standards (salt & cheese are my vices) by this recipe is amazing! I made cupcakes instead of a cake, which may have helped the rising / fluffy factor. When this recipe asks you to add sugar to egg whites and fluff, it's asking you to make a proper meringue. And you MUST make a proper meringue, or your cake won't rise at all - the air inside the meringue expands as you bake your cake, giving it rise and fluffiness. And the icing? Is ridiculous, caramel-y goodness. Not your traditional icing in the slightest. Yum! I took these to one of my classes and they just about died - have never gotten so many over-the-moon compliments as I did with this recipe! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ewok Boogie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Honda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great recipe, just like my grandmother's. In reading some of the reviews, I noticed some folks wondered about the amount of flour. Not sure why the cake fell apart for one reviewer, but the flour amount is correct. I'm a pastry chef, and can say that the graham takes the place of flour, both providing gluten and tenderizing. The whites must be prepped as instructed, because they provide structure and lift to the cake. If they're not properly whipped and carefully folded in, the result will be a dense cake with the wrong texture. The yolks and all the sugar also tenderize, so you've got to really adhere to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Broke apart on me - it tasted amazing but fell completely apart. I think that it may be too much graham cracker in it and that it's destabilizing the 'glue' of the cake. I can't remember the last time I saw a cake calling for .5 cups of a flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Unexpectedly good. It's a dense cake - not light and fluffy, but the flavor is yummy. I made them as part of a s'mores cupcake. I'm not sure it was the right cake for a s'more. But, it would be amazing with a cream cheese icing and crunchy toffee or pecan garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
People thought it tasted fine but no rave reviews. I don't have any better reviews towards making it either. The list of little steps didn't bother me, but it was so delicate, it was so difficult to frost or handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States