Graham Cracker Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I took these to work and everyone loved them! They are like 7 layer bars all mixed up together rather than in layers. I didn't have graham cracker crumbs but decided I wanted to try the recipe enough to substitute crushed vanilla wafers. They were delish this way and I'm sure equally good the original way. They lend themselves well to trying out different combinations of flavors - I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
YUMMMM!!!!!! I am testing out recipes for my annual Halloween party and this one will ABSOLUTELY make the table!! I totally love magic bars...but will replace them with this recipe because I think it is much better and easier to make. Only change I made was that after baking I laid out the 4 Hershey's bars on top, then popped back in the oven for 2 or 3 minutes. Then I took a spatula and gently spread the chocolate all over. They will be fun to decorate with the melted chocolate...I will use sprinkles and all sorts of creppy decorations. LOVE this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Excellent Bars! Taste just like Girl Scout Samoa Cookies:) I made the recipe with a few exceptions. #1 I halved the amount of butter simply because I am always looking for ways to lower fat content and another reviewer mentioned it. Less butter worked out great! #2 My Hubby came up with this but we added a layer of whole graham crackers to the bottom of the pan then mixed up the crushed graham crackers, coconut, butter and sweetened condensed milk and put on top. This is what I think makes it taste just like the Girl Scout Samoa cookies. I love this recipe because they were easy to make and required a low amount of ingredients I usually have around the house. Also, I feel these bars tasted better the 2nd day so you can make these a couple days ahead of when you need them and they will be even more yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
These were really good. I think they should be called coconut bars though. There's way more coconut flavor than anything else. they were very good though, and were eaten up by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Well this was a decent, but I found it really too thick and too chewy, while every one said it was good, you were chewing for a bit, I will make these again, however possibly making the adjustments, using a 9x13 pan for a thinner bar and either lessen the graham cracker crumbs by half a cup or adding half a cup more coconut OR just lessening the half a cup of graham cracker crumbs AND adding extra coconut for it to be a little more gooey. But I will make again and play around with this recipe. The flavor was good and the directions were simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
these are amazingly sweet! if you love coconut and chocolate these are the bars for you. So simple to make, and sinfully delicious. So sweet they should be illegal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UptownChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Good, simple recipe. We are not coconut eaters so I substituted oatmeal. Also left out the butter and they were still plenty moist. Mixed in a cup of chocolate chips rather than melting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
AMAZING! With the help of reviewers, I omitted the margarine and cooked for around 20-30min. I made these because how pretty they looked in the picture. I wanted the look of the chocolate chips on top, so I baked without chocolate, then sprinkled some on at the end. I baked for a few minutes and spread that chocolate and put the rest on top. Popped in the oven for a couple more min. Beautiful and SOOO yummy. Make them! Also, I crushed the graham crackers while still in their package and it came out to exactly 2 cups. Easy one bowl dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfish1282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
The taste is fantastic, but the bottom is too soft and mushy. It doesn't hold its shape. There needs to be some sort of hard crust on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
didn't turn out so well for me. I added marshmallow cream on top of the graham crackers which may have been my mistake .The graham cracker was gooey but the chocolate was hard. Too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States