Gourmet Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i cut the recipe in half and used a 5 oz can of tuna, a small slice of white onion for the green, 2 T of chopped celery, left out the olives, kept the capers, almonds, and worcestershire amounts the same, toasted the almonds, and only used 3 T of mayo.. very tasty.. even bf who hates mayo said this was good and loved the addition of the toasted nuts.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was wonderfully tasty, used ½ the mayo (olive oil mayo) and used nonfat plain greek yogurt (½ amount) in place of sour cream. Also used more of capers (3 tbsp) omitted olives, freshly ground pepper to taste, added juice of 1 lemon, and 1 teaspoon of dill otherwise followed recipe. YUMMY and HEALTHY :-) FoodieCC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just made this for my lunch and it's a keeper! I followed the recipe with the following exceptions. I didn't add the capers(I don't like capers) and I left out the almonds(I like almonds, but not in my tuna). I also cut the recipe in half because it was just for me. I used light sour cream and a combo of light & regular Hellmans Mayo, to cut some of the calories. Love the addition of the olives and worchestshire sauce!! Served mine over a bed of lettuce...will definitely make this again! Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used 1/2 cup sour cream and skipped the mayonnaise. I used cashews instead of almonds and left out the capers because I didn't have any. It's pretty good, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Just made this and it was really good. I needed a recipe without relish bc I ran out so I took a risk and tried this. I made as is at first obmitting the almonds and using one big spoon of sour cream and two big spoons of mayo. I only made 1/2 the recipe. It was good as is but I added another stalk of celery, more worcestershire, garlic powder, onion powder and cayanne to give it a kick. Do not add salt whatever you do. I also read some reviews added lemon juice but I added the juice from my bananna peppers instead. Next time I would use more caperes than olives. I am really glad I found a recipe that tastes good without the typical ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made this exactly according to recipe, only using reduced fat mayonnaise/sour cream. For me, the capers and green olives together made it way too salty. I think if I omitted the capers, it would be perfect. Honestly, it reminds me quite a bit of a Dirty Martini Dip I've made before--only with tuna fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I didn't use the sour cream and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Yummy! I made some for easy lunches this week. The only thing I added was a dash of black pepper. Everything else was the same and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. GUIDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalmette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great flavor and texture. I like the crunchiness in the tuna salad from the almonds and celery. I made tuna melts with this recipe. They were excellent. Whole wheat English muffin slice, a slice of tomato, a heaping serving of the tuna on top of the tomato, then a slice of provolone cheese. Top lightly with dried oregano. Broil for 2-4 minutes, or until top of cheese is brown. Serve with a side salad and alfalfa sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Excellent start to a great recipe...I used it as a base to add other ingredients. I reduced the mayonnaise down to 1/4 c and 1/4 sour cream as it was way too much. Then I added 1 tsp curry powder and 3/4 cup of rinsed canned garbanzo bean. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Winter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States