Gourmet Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I thought this was great, but there was way too much mayo and sour cream. I used about a third of what the recipe called for the next time I made it, and it was perfect. I also love capers, so I added a few more. Overall, it was great! Definately my new tuna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
MMMMMMM....Love tuna salad and this was really yummy. I didn't have any almonds in the house, so I had to omit them. I cut back on the mayo and also added green pepper. I put this on an english muffin added some shredded cheddar and put it under the broiler for a tasty tuna melt! Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Interesting blend of textures of flavours. Unfortunately, I did not have almonds on hand so I omitted that from the recipe. I can imagine, however, the crunchiness from the nuts would have been a great addition. I also used yellow peppers in replacement of the celery. I've never tried tuna salad with sour cream, so this was an interesting taste. Next time, I would probably add less of both the sour cream and the mayo as it was a bit too creamy for me. Overall, I quite enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
It was really good, but there was way too much mayo and sour cream for me, I would cut the amount of each in half next time. I would also either omit the capers or 1/2 the olives because it was a bit salty for me. Lastly I added a dash or black pepper and a squeeze of lemon juice which added the kick I needed. I'll probably make this again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I love this recipe and have made it many times. We particularly like it served on extra Sourdough bread, but have enjoyed it on a bed of lettuce for a light and cool summer dinner. Since I am not a person who loves tuna (but know I should eat some fish now and then) all these tasty ingredients effectively mask the fishy-ness that keeps me from eating tuna. Thanks for giving me a tuna salad recipe that I can really enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I agree with another reviewer, there are too many flavors together. It was pretty overwhelming. I don't think it had a bad taste, it was just very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I felt the capers made the salad too salty. I used black olives instead of green. I might make this again with some different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This recipe was okay, but it needs something to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
There really isn't anything special about this recipe. I think there are actually too many ingredients, i.e., having olives, celery, green onions, capers, and almonds each separately would be better than combining them all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I thought this was great! I did leave out the olives since I thought that the capers would provide enough of a salty bite, and I am glad that I did. This had both a great texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States