Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Now a tradition at our table! Thanks to all of the reviewers too - I heeded advice and cut back the white sugar to 1/3 cup and brown sugar to 2/3 cup which cut back on the sweetness. Hint for easy cooking of potatoes, just peel and then boil like regular white potatoes. No need to boil and them try to coax them out of their jackets the hard way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe for sweet potato casserole. I found that 1/4 cup of sugar in the potato mixture is enough for my family's sweet tooth since the topping adds more sweetness. A secret for those who do not like "stringy" sweet potatoes...use a mixer to combine the sweet potatoes and other ingredients. All the strings from the sweet potatoes wrap around the beaters, so don't scrape them after mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
843 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
UPDATE PT II: My version equates 3 cups of cooked yams to the 5 yams of undetermined size/weight noted in the original recipe. UPDATE: I read some earlier reviews about the "sweetness" of this recipe. I normally pick out 5 of the largest yams I can find. Used garnet yams before and used Beauregard yams this last time. It came out the same. This nukes well and is easily pre-made. I had enough yams to fill 2 loaf pans almost to the rim, but it came out a little soft (like baby food). So, in this case, I would have added an extra egg to give it extra firmness. Last time it was was just enough to fill 2 loaf pans 3/4 full and 2 eggs gave it enough firmness. Splenda for the yams and brown-sugar splenda for the topping worked well. =================== I've been attempting various sweet potato dishes for the last few years from this site because other family members expect some sweet potato dish during Thanksgiving. They all came out similar to most sweet potato dishes we've tried in the past. Nothing made us go, "Hmmmmm....sweet potatoes?" I made two alterations to this recipe. I substituted Splenda for the white sugar and I nuked this dish instead of baking it in the oven (there wasn't room due to the turkey). It is the first time in my home that a dish of sweet potatoes was fought over. There was little left over and everyone wanted some to take home. Anyhow, this dish came out creamy (like good mashed potatoes consistency), wasn't overly sweet, and it turned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
766 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle from California

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe, followed other users suggestions and added less sugar. I also used 2 big cans of yams instead of fresh potatoes (much less work) and replaced the cream with skim milk and I couldn't imagine it being better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I use a lighter variation to this recipe. Have for a few years now and it is such a HUGE hit, it is officially my job to make the sweet potatoes at the holiday get togethers. I do use one egg to add firmness. I also use 2% milk instead of cream and lite butter. There are really no other ways to cut down the fat or sugar but these tips do save some fat grams. I got the recipe from cooking light but can not remember the numbers it saves. Anyway, this is so good, I hope everyone tries and enjoys as much as our family does. God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I thought all sweet potato cassaroles were the same, but this is so good. I used canned sweet potatoes because I didnt want to mess with all that cooking and peeling. The topping was delicious, this is is the only sweet potato recipe I will be using from now on. Everyone asked for the recipe when I made it for Christmas :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow. I assembled this for Thanksgiving on Tuesday, traveled 7 hours Wednesday, baked and served it Thursday. It was fabulous. Having it prepared in advance helped me get the meal on the table all at once. And my father, who 'compliments the chef' but NEVER specifically points out a dish told me to give my mother the recipe!! My husband loved the pecans. Both said it was not too sweet as many sweet potato casseroles can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
excellent! I make it both for holidays and for simple family dinners. I usually leave out the butter and cream in the sweet potato mixture and it still tastes great but has less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I used brown sugar instead of white (cut it in half for my taste) and added nuts to the potatoes as well as the topping. Went over great at a big luncheon and a family gathering. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
A great recipe! The topping was my favorite part. I used canned potatoes and I thought it was a little dry. Next time I will add a little more white sugar and possibly more cream. Other than this, it was great. I am a big fan of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States