Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I've been making these potatoes for years, and they never fail. These are by far the best sweet potatoes I've ever had. I hate marshmallow topping, and the pecans are the perfect topping for these potatoes. Every year I can tell how much people like it by the empty serving dish. I've started making these the night before. I put the topping on it the next day and bake, and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Definitely reduce the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I took this to a dinner party and several people told me that these were the best sweet potatoes they've ever had. I prepared as indicated with very minor changes: 1) since sweet potatoes vary in sweetness, I prepared the sweet potatoes mix without the sugar first, then adjusted for sweetness; 2) I added a tiny bit of allspice - it really enhanced the flavor; and 3) I added a little more vanilla, but that is just my preference. Thank you for sharing the recipe. This one has been saved to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
These were wonderful. I used 10 lbs of potatoes and then altered the ingredients. It made more than a crockpot of potatoes. Everyone LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Made for Thanksgiving A great hit. No leftovers. Took other reviewers advice and left out the ½ cup sugar. Added maybe a teaspoon (didn't measure) of brown sugar to sweet potatoes just because the brown sugar was sitting out on the counter. Added nutmeg along with the cinnamon. Used soy milk instead of heavy cream also jumbo eggs. Peeled and cut sweet potatoes (3 lbs.) and steamed them. They took less than 15 minutes to cook. Topping is terrific! Assembled everything the night before, refrigerated, and put in the oven on Thursday. Super easy. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My family absolutely devoured this, but it was too sweet for me. Still, after the way my family raved, I will def be making it again. I added shredded leftover turkey for a one-dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was delicious! My husband absolutely loved it. I halved the sugar in the sweet potatoes (not the topping), and it was still a little sweet for my taste, but like I said, my husband loved it. The topping really makes it for me! I nuked 4 large sweet potatoes in the microwave - stab a few times with a knife, nuke 4-5 min, flip, nuke 4-5 min - and the texture was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I like this, although I think my family thought it was a little sweet. I roasted my sw potatoes at 400 for 1hr-1hr 15min. You really don't need to make extra of the topping - it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! My family loved it and several asked for the recipe. The only change I made was baking the sweet potatoes for about an hour, then scooping out the pulp. I also doubled the recipe and the proportions worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
It was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States