Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is my go-to sweet potato casserole recipe - because it's so luxurious and decadent. This is a staple for holidays, with either the nut topping or marshmallows (for those who insist). I usually don't add sugar, since roasting the potatoes gives it more than enough sweetness, especially if you roast them extra long (like 75+ minutes for large), and the topping is crazy sweet. Make sure your butter can fully incorporate into the mashed potatoes and, at the same time, the potatoes aren't so hot they cook the eggs. Both mistakes I've made. There are never leftovers of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year in addition to my normal candied yams topped with marshmallows (which is always a hit, and has been developed by me when I was a teenager ) ... I decided to try this one because it reminded me of the delicious sweet potatoe casserole at Ruth's Chris (awesome steakhouse restaurant) that I love ... Needless to say, it was a hit... My fiancé asked "who made the sweet potato casserole?" I said "I did... " He said"no really... Who made it"? I said I "ME!!" And he said "well why don't you ever make it for us at home??..." LOL... Needless to say, I guess he liked it... LOL. The only thing that I might change for next time, would be to add a dash of cinnamon to the crumble on top . but otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Dangerously yummy! These are the most delicious sweet potatoes I've ever had. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. It will be on my Thanksgiving menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Harmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it. I also used less white sugar than the recipe called for and it turned out great. Definitely a staple from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The instant response from anyone who took a bite was "this is REALLY good!" I took a plate of food to my sick brother in-law and he begged me later that night to bring him some more of those sweet potatoes! Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made sweet potato casserole for years, but I decided to try this one. Hands down the best recipe I have ever made. I did not change a thing. Thanks for sharing. I will stick with this one from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Lawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used 2 cans of yams, less white and brown sugar, and also accidentally left out the butter from the sweet potato mix. It was delicious, and I got several comments about how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this to bring to the family Thanksgiving dinner today, 24+ guests and everyone absolutely loved it. A few people suggested that I bring this to dinner every year from now on. Thanks for this de-lish dish! Happy Thanksgiving from New England...home to the first Thanksgiving feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe was absolutely wonderful! I boiled the sweet potatoes and cut down on the sugar by about 1/4 c. I totally forgot the milk and used glazed pecans from Trader Joes so I cut down on the brown sugar also. Wow, better than the Yummy Sweet Potatoes recipe. SECOND TIME AROUND MADE THE RECIPE AS WRITTEN CUTTING DOWN ON THE WHITE SUGAR BY A LITTLE. OMG...SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A must have at every holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States