Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This will be THE sweet potato casserole that I use from now on. Very tasty! I made this exactly as the recipe reads, except for having to microwave my sweet potatoes after the 35 minutes in the oven to get them to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Simply Awesome!! Didn't change a thing, will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Wonderful & easy alternative to the sweet potato & marshmallow dish. Almost everyone had seconds & they demanded that I make it again next year. I used canned sweet potatoes instead of boiling fresh that I rinsed before mashing since they were in heavy syrup. I was also out of heavy cream, so I substituted about 2/3 the amount of sour cream and it worked fine. Seriously considering making this again for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Excellent recipe. I really enjoyed this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Omg this is the best sweet potatoe casserole recipe ever! Two days later everyone is still talking about it! I changed it up a little. I used a cup of packed brown suger and 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans. I will be passing this recipe along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Holy balls....this stuff was sooooooo good. We are a sweet potato loving family and every year we seem to be on the search for a recipe for sweet potato casserole that is worthy of our holiday meal spread. Ladies and gentlemen, we have officially found a winner. I followed the recipe exactly except I threw in a good couple of shakes of cinnamon for the topping because I wasn't paying attention and thought that's what the recipe said. I used a 2 qt casserole dish and they were absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Not that this dish needs another glowing review...but I feel compelled nevertheless! Wonderful dish! It's more like sweet potato pie - so rich and awesome! I do also reduce the sugar (to taste) in both the filling and topping - to 1/3 c and 2/3 c respectively. But that's the only change I make and it comes out incredible every time. It was a real winner again this Thanksgiving. Oh, and I do nuke the sweet potatoes for 10 min and then finish baking them in a 425 oven for 45 minutes. They cool for 20 min and it's super easy to take them out of their skins. I think a baked potato really enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
So glad I decided to try this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a bit hit with everyone. Absolutely one of the best sweet potato recipes that I have ever tried. This will be my new "go-to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is my go-to sweet potato casserole recipe - because it's so luxurious and decadent. This is a staple for holidays, with either the nut topping or marshmallows (for those who insist). I usually don't add sugar, since roasting the potatoes gives it more than enough sweetness, especially if you roast them extra long (like 75+ minutes for large), and the topping is crazy sweet. Make sure your butter can fully incorporate into the mashed potatoes and, at the same time, the potatoes aren't so hot they cook the eggs. Both mistakes I've made. There are never leftovers of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year in addition to my normal candied yams topped with marshmallows (which is always a hit, and has been developed by me when I was a teenager ) ... I decided to try this one because it reminded me of the delicious sweet potatoe casserole at Ruth's Chris (awesome steakhouse restaurant) that I love ... Needless to say, it was a hit... My fiancé asked "who made the sweet potato casserole?" I said "I did... " He said"no really... Who made it"? I said I "ME!!" And he said "well why don't you ever make it for us at home??..." LOL... Needless to say, I guess he liked it... LOL. The only thing that I might change for next time, would be to add a dash of cinnamon to the crumble on top . but otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States