Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
served on thanksgiving. Everyone LOVED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I thought this was very good, but a little dry. Everyone loved it. I think I will put a little more cream in next time - the flavor was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My father-in-law LOVED this! The rest of us are opposed to sweet potatoes, but I think this is a recipe we could use to try to aquire a taste. I had a little taste and it was nice and sweet. Once you learn to like them, I would also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband bought sweet potatoes instead of yams (my fault - he bought what I told him to)! I made this with the sweet potatoes, and it was fabulous! My family went crazy for these. It tasted almost like a sweet potato pie, with a crumble on top. It is really sweet, but it is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. This will be my go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made as written and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I followed the advice and did 1/3 c white sugar and 2/3 c of brown sugar. Baked and then peeled the potatoes. We also made it even sweeter by adding the marshmallows. It turned out amazing! More of a dessert though. Took place of my pies. But a lot easier to make, I feel. I prepared it the night before Thanksgiving and baked it on Thanksgiving Day. Turned out beautifully. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsugin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
A HUGE hit at Thanksgiving!! We camp over Thanksgiving and have a hard time finding dishes to make in crock pots for ease of use. Everyone loved this recipe. I used truvia and splenda for sugar substitutes and couldn't tell that anything was changed. We baked the potatoes in the dutch oven first. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My daughter made these for Thanksgiving dinner. I hate peeling raw sweet potatoes because they are so hard. I didn't have room in the oven to bake them, so we boiled them whole and in the peels. When they were done, we sliced off each end and cut a slit down the middle. The potatoes slipped right out of the peels. There wasn't enough topping to cover the 13x9 inch dish. Rather than make more, we filled in the gaps with mini marshmallows after baking. We returned the dish to the oven long enough to brown the marshmallows. Next time, we'll double the marshmallows. Great holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was so good and it will now be on the table at Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was also so easy to make that I had my 16 year old son make it. He made it as is and did not minus the sugar. We thought it was great and not to sweet. Not sure if that was because He did not go through boiling and peeling the potatoes because i found boiled and peeled sweet potatoes in a can and he used that. Sorry if that offends you true chefs that must do everything from scratch. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States