Gourmet Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I baked a pumpkin and pureed it fresh for this recipe. Without having read any other reviews, I actually added some pumpkin pie spice after tasting the filling (just a scant 1/2 tsp.) I used a store bought crust. MAKE SURE you use a deep dish pan! * Hubby said this was the best pie EVER.* I can't believe how light (almost mousse-like) it is. Can't wait to make it again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAllen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
The filling on this is really bland with no spices and it is a very soft filling. Not custard like at all. The topping was very good when first baked but the filling was sloppy - chilled over night and the filling set up better but then the topping wasn't crunchy any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This pie has great potential. The streusel topping was tasty, but the filling needed to be sweeter to actually taste like pie. Perhaps adding some white sugar to the filling along with some pumpkin pie spice. I'm willing to try this recipe again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very nice, lighter than a traditional pumpkin pie. However, I did add a good deal of pumpkin pie spice to the filling as it would have been very bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLEEC

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a great upgrade to the traditional pumpkin pie, and my family puts in requests for pies to take home during thie holidays. We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is a jazzed-up version of pumpkin pie. You'll never make plain pumpkin pie again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hearth Spider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I liked the pecans in the crust of this pie and will add them to future pumpkin pie crusts, but I didn't think the struessel topping was worth the trouble. My family wasn't crazy about this pie either. I'll go back to the traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
The topping on this pie is fantastic. The pumpkin filling NEEDS pumpkin pie spice. I made it according to the recipe without any changes, and the pumpkin filling was SO BLAND it was awful. A couple of teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice would make this one terrific pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States