Gourmet Pretzel Rods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I found this works best with two people. I cut the pretzel rod in half like another reviewer suggested! Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
You can do so much with these! I made them 2 Christmases ago, and I remember rolling them in the chocolate, and then we sprinkled all kind of little candy things on them, and nuts. At the family party, the ones that went fast were the ones that had crushed up plain Lays potato chips on them! we were eating chips while making these, and horsing around, so someone came up with the idea. Have made them again since, and ...yep! They are darn good! Get inventive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
1 layer of caramel and two layers of milk chocolate... yum!!! Made these and drizzled white chocolate over them.. bagged them up and gave them as gifts to neighbors for Christmas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made these last year and they are impossible to mess up. The easiest Christmas dessert in the world. We dip ours in chocolate first then roll in nuts or candy and drizzle with homemade caramel.(Homemade caramel is also super easy, basically it's just melted sugar and a little butter and cream or milk..) Anyway, no tips or tricks it is really fun and simple and really impresses people when you show up with them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bffrlz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca Lake, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent! I made these Salted Caramel Chocolate Pretzels with a couple of changes to look and taste. Instead of water I used milk or you can also use condensed milk instead of water in the caramels. The other change was to the method in that I drizzled the chocolate over on an angle so you could see the caramel underneath. I sprinkled a pinch of kosher salt to finish them off. The salt really punches up the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineMalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These are one of my favorite things to make during the holidays! One thing I do a bit differently is instead of using a tablespoon of water I use 2 tablespoons evaporated milk. I also use a 2 cup pyrex glass measuring cup, once the caramel is melted I pour what will fit in the measuring cup. It makes is really easy to dip the pretzels and less messy. I scrape the bottom of the pretzel on the spout of the measuring cup. Plus if the caramel starts to cool to much you can just pop it in the microwave. And, since I like to do these in batches, I just refrigerate any leftovers I have right in the measuring cup, it's easy to reheat and use another day. I use a variety of mini chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, mini M & M's, crushed health bars, pecans, butterscotch chips and any thing else I have in the house. I don't usually dip them again in chocolate, it's really not needed in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I dipped mine in melted white chocolate and then sprinkled coconut on them!! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very yummy. I take the pretzels, dip them in the caramel, roll them in nuts after it's set up a bit, and then generously drizzle white and semi-sweet chocolate over the top. perfect for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made exactly as is with the exception of dipping the pretzel rods in semi-sweet and white chocolate after the caramel dried. I made 5 kinds for Christmas: 1. White with brown lines 2. White with crushed peppermints 3. White with red or green M&Ms 4. Brown with white lines 5. Brown with crushed peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We made our own caramel using 2 C sugar 1 C corn syrup 1 C butter and a can of condensed milk - Homemade caramel worked well, but next time I may try melting caramel candies..sounds a little easier. I was nervous the pretzels might be too sweet and stick to teeth but everyone LOVED them, and they looked cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States