Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Wow...amazing! ! Made a few changes only because of personal taste. I only used about half the amount of mushroom (kids) I love mushrooms! Used garlic in place of shallots. We don't drink so no wine in our home just used an extra 1/2 cup broth. This took more like 35 min...but so worth it. Actually pretty easy to make. I almost forgot I did use about 1 tablespoon less olive oil and 2 tablespoons less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Delicious and easy!!! i took some of the recommendations and added caramelized onions, a little more wine, and served alongside chicken & brocoli for one of the most delicious sides i have ever made! next time i may try adding a pinch of fresh chopped rosemary, as i feel the flavours would be very complimentary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is the first recipe I've ever made for risotto, with some tweaks of my own: I add in a couple of diced and pan-cooked chicken thighs, substitute garlic for the shallots, and add in some parsley and more parmesan cheese than I probably have a right to put in risotto (what? I like cheese!). I also kind of fudged on the mushroom amounts, based on the comments and just on eyeing the amount. Let's just say that my friends LOVED it, and my boyfriend, who works in a fancy Italian restaurant (aka, I can't afford it without his discount!) said it tastes just the like the one Chef makes at his work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ankhet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Can I make this ahead of time... A few hours? I love this recipe & want to double it for a large group. Has anyone ever doubled it & made it ahead of time? Suggestions please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Spence
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was the best mushroom risotto I ever made. Adhering to the previous commentds, I used 8 oz. cremini with 1 cup white wine to start. Then followed the above recipe. Mmm-mmm-mm-mm-mm! I had some in Florence, Italy about 10 years ago...patting my self on the back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Spence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great recipe! I did add a little more white wine and Parmesan cheese and it was perfect for our taste. I used 2 cups of Baby Bella mushrooms and that worked just fine. For those who think the wine is going to affect an "alcoholic or 3 yr old" It WILL not! Alcohol burns off with the heat, so do not feel that you're giving alcohol to someone if you cook with 4 oz of wine and 32 oz of chicken broth!!! Basically you're cooking with 36 oz of LIQUID...I found this article - maybe this will help explain: "Alcohol itself doesn't add flavor to dishes so much as it helps release flavor molecules in foods and assists in dissolving fats, allowing ingredients to reveal their own unique flavors in ways that other liquids (like water or broth) or fats (like butter and olive oil) cannot. When adding wine to a sauce, make sure you allow most of the alcohol to cook off" Allow the sauce to reduce by half in an open pan to let the alcohol cook off. Now you know you know how to cook with wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
First time making risotto and followed exact recipe but used 1/2 c more wine and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used portobello, shiitake, and white mushrooms and the turnout was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is the first time that I've made risotto. I'm glad that I read the comments before starting otherwise I would have never kept the chicken stock hot. I would have tried adding it cold and it would have taken much longer to cook. My family absolutely loved it and I'm excited to make variations and experiment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
So delicious! And pretty easy, but comes off as a gourmet dish! Love this! Everyone I made this for was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States