Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Please do cut the mushrooms in half, I think it was a typo when it was first entered, but you can use any amount of mushroom you desire! Feel free to also adjust the wine to your preference. You can also try different variations to make this a main dish, peas & prociutto, shrimp and asparagus, chicken and mushroom, saffron & seafood... whatever you desire for the last mix in (cooked meat of course)! Optionally, you can add some tarragon to this and add more broth if you like it "soupy". It's fantastic! Those saying that it takes longer than 20 minutes to cook, that is because your cooking heat is too low and/or your broth is not hot enough (should not be boiling, but should be hot and kept over low-medium heat). When you add the broth, it should be boiling when it hits the risotto. It should take about 2 minutes for your broth to be fully absorbed after constant stirring. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
In order to get that beautiful, creamy consistency a good risotto is so noted for, I found 15-20 minutes of cooking time was not nearly long enough. The simmering broth must be added little by little, cooked and stirred till it's absorbed, then repeating this step, ladle by ladle of broth, until the risotto is tender but not mushy, the broth is absorbed, and the starches break down resulting in creamy risotto - however long that takes. In my case, it probably took twice as long as the recipe directed, but then I cooked this at moderate heat in order to release the starches slowly. The end result was a creamy risotto with great flavor, the perfect complement to the pork piccata I served it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
The best mushroom risotto I've ever eaten was in Valetta, Malta (so good you'd give somebody's left arm for it)and I've been hunting for a good recipe ever since. This recipe is a close second! I've made it twice now, and I've found that I prefer to use about twice as much wine as called for (and of course then cut back on the chicken stock), as well as add a clove of garlic with the shallots (but I love garlic, so this may not be for all). Overall a very good basic recipe with lots of room for customisation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
706 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Great! With the leftovers I made Risotto al Salto. I shaped about half cup of the cold risotto and pan fry it with olive oil until it is golden brown. About 2-3 minutes per side. Then I sprinkle it with Parmesean cheese, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe was fabulous ... well worth the effort of standing and stirring! You can never have too many mushrooms in my book. That "typo" only made it better! ;) I only made one change to the recipe -- because there's an alcoholic in the house, I substituted the wine for white grape juice and it was really good! I found that the risotto was actually even better the next day for lunch, too. It reheats really well in the microwave with a dampish paper towel over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENDIPITY2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe for my first attempt at making risotto. I did cut back on the amount of mushrooms. I used 8 oz sliced white and 8 oz. sliced baby bellas. We don't drink wine and I didn't want to buy a bottle and just use 1/2 cup, so I omitted the wine and used chicken broth in its place. Do be prepared to literally stand at the stove and stir for 20 minutes, though. I wasn't able to get away from it for more than a few seconds at a time or it would start to stick. This made an elegant dinner paired with Sensational Sirloin Kabobs from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Soooo good! Will make again and again! Find the perfect balance for heat - not hot enough and you'll be standing at the stove for ages getting the thing to cook, too hot and it will stick to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. I made it for a group of friends, abd they could barely talk they were so busy shoving it in. A few changes. I agree about adding garlic, at least as personal preference goes. In addition, I used an extra 1/8 cup of cheese, went with a 1/2 cup less muchrooms, and right before serving, threw in about two tsp of freshly chopped chives. It livened up the heaviness of the dish just enough to diminsh my guilt! I served it with a chicken roll up and the crowd was delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was an excellent recipe, paired with cedar-planked grilled yukon river salmon and grilled asparagus. It did take a lot of stirring so make sure you don's have anything else to attend to or an extra pair of hands to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Served with sides of roasted tomatoes and fresh green beans, this risotto made a gratifying dinner indeed! I will have to remember this recipe when I am entertaining vegetarian guests, although I cannot wait to make it again and top it with seared and caramelized diver scallops. I added a clove of garlic, doubled the amount of wine, and used chicken stock rather than broth. I added only two Tablespoons of butter but did add some extra Parmesan Reggiano. I did not need as much liquid as the recipe noted. If you are new to risotto making be aware that the amount of liquid needed can change each time you make it, so always check your rice as you go along, don’t just blindly follow a recipe or use the amount you used when you made the dish previously. As for being too much work…how much work is stirring really? It only takes one hand and you’ve opened a nice bottle of wine for the risotto so you have one hand free to enjoy a glass as you stir. What could be better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States