Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kay Gee
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was the best mushroom risotto I ever made. Adhering to the previous commentds, I used 8 oz. cremini with 1 cup white wine to start. Then followed the above recipe. Mmm-mmm-mm-mm-mm! I had some in Florence, Italy about 10 years ago...patting my self on the back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great recipe! I did add a little more white wine and Parmesan cheese and it was perfect for our taste. I used 2 cups of Baby Bella mushrooms and that worked just fine. For those who think the wine is going to affect an "alcoholic or 3 yr old" It WILL not! Alcohol burns off with the heat, so do not feel that you're giving alcohol to someone if you cook with 4 oz of wine and 32 oz of chicken broth!!! Basically you're cooking with 36 oz of LIQUID...I found this article - maybe this will help explain: "Alcohol itself doesn't add flavor to dishes so much as it helps release flavor molecules in foods and assists in dissolving fats, allowing ingredients to reveal their own unique flavors in ways that other liquids (like water or broth) or fats (like butter and olive oil) cannot. When adding wine to a sauce, make sure you allow most of the alcohol to cook off" Allow the sauce to reduce by half in an open pan to let the alcohol cook off. Now you know you know how to cook with wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
First time making risotto and followed exact recipe but used 1/2 c more wine and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used portobello, shiitake, and white mushrooms and the turnout was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is the first time that I've made risotto. I'm glad that I read the comments before starting otherwise I would have never kept the chicken stock hot. I would have tried adding it cold and it would have taken much longer to cook. My family absolutely loved it and I'm excited to make variations and experiment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
So delicious! And pretty easy, but comes off as a gourmet dish! Love this! Everyone I made this for was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Dinner last night....yummy! am vegetarian so served a salad before hand of steamed mini zucchini's and shallots, palm hearts,cucumber and lettuce. WOW! this is time consuming, but well worth the effort! used tips from many reviews, added a clove of local garlic (never use Chinese anymore) upped wine to one cup so broth went down to 5-1/2 cups...used organic chicken broth (not a die hard vegetarian, just don't eat meats) used 1/2 pkg of Costco mini bella sliced 'shrooms along with two kinds of pleurottes 'shrooms....fresh parm and garden chives! wow was this good, but very filling! going to try pacegirls recipe for leftovers Risotto al Salto....sounds to good to be true! tres Italiano! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty. We'll be making this again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elizasilvester@gmail.com
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States