Gourmet Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This recipe is so unbelievable good! My husband and I were in heaven! The recipe didn't specify what kind of bread to use, so we got a fresh baked italian loaf sliced and used that. This sandwich is great just the way it is. Next time we might add some fresh spinach to the sandwich, but it certainly doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
First there is the 5 star crispy-cheesy grilled romano on the bread. Then there is the creamy-tomatoey stuff inside. THEN there are the hundreds of variations you can do with this recipe. We did some with fresh herbs, some with pesto, one with colby-jack & blue cheese. The one in the picture is as written on sourdough. Yum. Thanks for the recipe(s)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
excellent! i did it a little different for taste. i used fresh shredded mozz cheese, skipped the egg step and fried in @2 tbls butter, added fresh basil, chopped and dry italian seasonings as well as fresh ground sea salt and black pepper. this sandwich screams for some bacon or ham. great with veggie soup on a cool evening. a true gourmet cheese sandwich! update... i ADDED mozz cheese to this and now some pepperjack cheese. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very good, but it could have been more flavorful. I do love a good gourmet grilled cheese sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
BEST grilled cheese sandwich ever! I crave it almost too much :) I add spinach and italian herb blend then cook it on the george forman grill and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
My son LOVED this recipe. Says a lot, coming from a six year old! (Oh, we loved it, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made a few using the egg dip method, but didn't like how it really didn't crisp up enough. So I used butter instead then dipped in the cheese. So much better. So many ways to make this your own creation. The kids like fontina better than goat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
used parmasean instead of romano. granny smith apples instead of tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
If I were to make this again I would use less goat cheese. It was very rich, but it tasted pretty good with tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This definitely takes regular 'ol grilled cheese to the "gourmet" level. I used a combination of Romano and Asiago cheeses and Italian bread. The goat cheese and tomato combination was delicious and paired perfectly with the cripsy, cheesy outer "coating". Perfect with homemade tomato soup or a garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States