Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
TASTY! I put some thinly sliced tomatoes on the cheese mixture, and I cut the mayo to 1/4 cup. I had to use taco seasoned colby-jack cheese because that's all I had (which I thought would make it taste gross, but it didn't) YUM, I will make this again & maybe add some salami. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I followed the advice of the other posters and cut the mayo. I too added mozzarella instaed of the colby/jack combo I believe this recipe called for. Everyone in the house LOVED this recipe. All the kids raved and so did my husband. A rare accomplishment here at my house of seven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I also include Mozzeralla cheese in the mixture. It's the only kind of Grilled Cheese sandwich my husband will eat now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Delicious! What a nice change from the ordinary. Quick, simple and completely decadent. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I made this as a hot appetizer at my last party - a big hit, very rich but so good! I added bacon to some of the appetizers - even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I just got finished eating this sandwhich. I followed the recipe to the T. It was fabulous! I make all the recipes just like they are written the first time. This way I can say if it's a good recipe or not. If I start changing it won't even be the same recipe. So...I thought it was excellent just how it was. Salty but not as bad as other reviewers make it seem. Rich but not too rich. After I made it the recipe way the first time, I added fresh sliced tomatoes the second. It was just wonderful! I don't think I can go back to eating regular grilled cheese sandwhiches after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
When I put these on the table for lunch my husband looked at me like I was insane. He then took a bit and loved it. The cheese is gooey and a little tangy. I forgot to buy the colby-jack so I used shredded cheddar and they were great. Also, because my husband is convince a meal without meat is only a snack I added some sliced deli ham. The ham makes it a little more difficult to eat the sandwiches as they tend to slide apart. I also added a little fresh cracked pepper and dried dill weed to mine. I will make these again for sure. They are very filling, fast and easy to make. Thanks Sarah for a great weekend lunch recipe that is not boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I love this recipe. However, I did not use the mayo either. My girls and husband loved it. Definitely rich, so I made it again using just the Jack cheese, no Colby and it was even better that way. I highly recommend this one though! Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Awsome can also be used as a cracker spread reminds me of the cracker spread alouette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I had a similar sandwich at a bed & breakfast but could never find the recipe. This is soo good! One hint: Let your cream cheese sit out to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States