Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Nice take on grilled cheese! Not sure if I'd call it "gourmet", but it definitely takes regular grilled cheese to a new level. I used reduced fat cream cheese and Hellman's light mayo along with just a bit of garlic vs. garlic salt. I added a couple of slices of tomato which took it over the top! Perfect with a bowl of hot soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I just got finished eating this sandwhich. I followed the recipe to the T. It was fabulous! I make all the recipes just like they are written the first time. This way I can say if it's a good recipe or not. If I start changing it won't even be the same recipe. So...I thought it was excellent just how it was. Salty but not as bad as other reviewers make it seem. Rich but not too rich. After I made it the recipe way the first time, I added fresh sliced tomatoes the second. It was just wonderful! I don't think I can go back to eating regular grilled cheese sandwhiches after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I just made this again. I used garlic powder instead of salt and that made all the difference in the world. The sandwich doesn't need the extra salt. I also skipped the mayo like I did the first time. I've been making this with plain white bread and it works fine although I'm sure french bread or some other bread like foccacia would be awesome. A tip I have when making grilled cheese sandwiches of any kind is to use partially or completely frozen bread. The bread will hold together better and you won't break it when you slather on the margarine or butter. It doesn't add to the cooking time and you end up with a nicer looking sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
When I put these on the table for lunch my husband looked at me like I was insane. He then took a bit and loved it. The cheese is gooey and a little tangy. I forgot to buy the colby-jack so I used shredded cheddar and they were great. Also, because my husband is convince a meal without meat is only a snack I added some sliced deli ham. The ham makes it a little more difficult to eat the sandwiches as they tend to slide apart. I also added a little fresh cracked pepper and dried dill weed to mine. I will make these again for sure. They are very filling, fast and easy to make. Thanks Sarah for a great weekend lunch recipe that is not boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
great recipe but the proportions are ALL wrong. More cheese, half of everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Delicious starting point! I had a bunch of french sub rolls to use, so I made the cheese spread and put it inside my split roll. Then I baked at 375 for 10 minutes (until the cheese was melted). Didn't use the butter. I didn't measure anything, but I used a lot less mayo (light mayo), light cream cheese, and Tillamook sharp cheddar. I also used two whole garlic cloves, and mixed up everything in my food processor. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This was a good change from a normal grilled cheese. However, it calls for WAY TOO MUCH mayo! Next time I would use half or maybe even a quarter of the amount and add more cheese. Aside from that, the flavor is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I followed the advice of the other posters and cut the mayo. I too added mozzarella instaed of the colby/jack combo I believe this recipe called for. Everyone in the house LOVED this recipe. All the kids raved and so did my husband. A rare accomplishment here at my house of seven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
TASTY! I put some thinly sliced tomatoes on the cheese mixture, and I cut the mayo to 1/4 cup. I had to use taco seasoned colby-jack cheese because that's all I had (which I thought would make it taste gross, but it didn't) YUM, I will make this again & maybe add some salami. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I'm sorry, but we didn't like this one. I cut down on the mayo to 1/2 c. and the garlic salt to 1/4 tsp. and it was still WAY too rich and way to salty! After a couple of bites it went in the garbage can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States