Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I made this as a hot appetizer at my last party - a big hit, very rich but so good! I added bacon to some of the appetizers - even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I also include Mozzeralla cheese in the mixture. It's the only kind of Grilled Cheese sandwich my husband will eat now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Wow! This was really rich! I think it was maybe a bit much mayo and salt. Maybe if I used less of the mixture on the bread it would not have been so rich. The bread browned too quickly even on low not giving the cheese time to melt. I think it would have been good if I just adjusted it more to our taste. My hubby had the same review..neither of us could finish the sandwich! I'll try again once more..with the adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I'm sorry, but we didn't like this one. I cut down on the mayo to 1/2 c. and the garlic salt to 1/4 tsp. and it was still WAY too rich and way to salty! After a couple of bites it went in the garbage can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
great recipe but the proportions are ALL wrong. More cheese, half of everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Delicious! What a nice change from the ordinary. Quick, simple and completely decadent. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This was a good change from a normal grilled cheese. However, it calls for WAY TOO MUCH mayo! Next time I would use half or maybe even a quarter of the amount and add more cheese. Aside from that, the flavor is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
TASTY! I put some thinly sliced tomatoes on the cheese mixture, and I cut the mayo to 1/4 cup. I had to use taco seasoned colby-jack cheese because that's all I had (which I thought would make it taste gross, but it didn't) YUM, I will make this again & maybe add some salami. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I followed the advice of the other posters and cut the mayo. I too added mozzarella instaed of the colby/jack combo I believe this recipe called for. Everyone in the house LOVED this recipe. All the kids raved and so did my husband. A rare accomplishment here at my house of seven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This is a very rich sandwich, but very good. I made minor adjustments to the amounts of the ingredients. (Honestly, I didn't measure...just added until it looked right to me.) Due to the richness, my husband and I cut one sandwich in half and shared it with our soup. We discussed the addition of finely diced ham, tomato, onion, even roast beef. I think that it is too heavy for most of our simple meals, but may make an excellent addition to my appetizer list for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States