Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
We found this recipe to be too rich. Even w/o the mayo, I don’t think I’ll be cooking it again. All of the ingredients are things I like, but apparently not all of them together. However, it was easy to make, and w/a few modifications would be a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I was planning to make grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch and I looked on this website to see if I could find something a little more exciting and found this recipe. I cut the recipe in half for only two sandwiches and used neufchatel cheese for less fat along with LF mayo (only 1 T for both) and 2% cheddar. We enjoyed the richness added by the cream cheese but did not care for the mayo. Next time, I will leave that out completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This is a very rich sandwich, but very good. I made minor adjustments to the amounts of the ingredients. (Honestly, I didn't measure...just added until it looked right to me.) Due to the richness, my husband and I cut one sandwich in half and shared it with our soup. We discussed the addition of finely diced ham, tomato, onion, even roast beef. I think that it is too heavy for most of our simple meals, but may make an excellent addition to my appetizer list for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I followed the advice of the other posters and cut the mayo. I too added mozzarella instaed of the colby/jack combo I believe this recipe called for. Everyone in the house LOVED this recipe. All the kids raved and so did my husband. A rare accomplishment here at my house of seven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
TASTY! I put some thinly sliced tomatoes on the cheese mixture, and I cut the mayo to 1/4 cup. I had to use taco seasoned colby-jack cheese because that's all I had (which I thought would make it taste gross, but it didn't) YUM, I will make this again & maybe add some salami. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This was a good change from a normal grilled cheese. However, it calls for WAY TOO MUCH mayo! Next time I would use half or maybe even a quarter of the amount and add more cheese. Aside from that, the flavor is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Delicious! What a nice change from the ordinary. Quick, simple and completely decadent. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
great recipe but the proportions are ALL wrong. More cheese, half of everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I'm sorry, but we didn't like this one. I cut down on the mayo to 1/2 c. and the garlic salt to 1/4 tsp. and it was still WAY too rich and way to salty! After a couple of bites it went in the garbage can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Wow! This was really rich! I think it was maybe a bit much mayo and salt. Maybe if I used less of the mixture on the bread it would not have been so rich. The bread browned too quickly even on low not giving the cheese time to melt. I think it would have been good if I just adjusted it more to our taste. My hubby had the same review..neither of us could finish the sandwich! I'll try again once more..with the adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States