Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I just made this again. I used garlic powder instead of salt and that made all the difference in the world. The sandwich doesn't need the extra salt. I also skipped the mayo like I did the first time. I've been making this with plain white bread and it works fine although I'm sure french bread or some other bread like foccacia would be awesome. A tip I have when making grilled cheese sandwiches of any kind is to use partially or completely frozen bread. The bread will hold together better and you won't break it when you slather on the margarine or butter. It doesn't add to the cooking time and you end up with a nicer looking sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I had a similar sandwich at a bed & breakfast but could never find the recipe. This is soo good! One hint: Let your cream cheese sit out to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
very rich for a sandwich but delicious if you like this type of flavour. i cut back a little on the garlic salt and added 2 slices of chicken bacon... make sure you use good bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Not a good sandwich. I cut the mayo more than in half like other reviewers suggested. It was just WAAAAYYY to rich for a sandwich. I have a suggestion though. Because the recipe sounded so good for the sandwiches, I mixed up extra thinking that this would be something yummy for lunches during the week. When none of us liked it I was upset about the wasted ingredients. I decided to add a little chopped green onion to it and it's a delicious cracker spread!! Try it for a cracker spread...skip the sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Awsome can also be used as a cracker spread reminds me of the cracker spread alouette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I love this recipe. However, I did not use the mayo either. My girls and husband loved it. Definitely rich, so I made it again using just the Jack cheese, no Colby and it was even better that way. I highly recommend this one though! Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I did not use the mayo, but everything else and it turned out wonderful. My family of siz loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Just too mushy! My family did not like this at all - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was much better than I expected. I enjoyed it. I only made one sandwich and because of other reviews I cut the amount of mayo in half. I didn't have garlic salt so I left that out. Also I used a mix of shredded Jack cheese and shredded cheddar cheese. It came out good. You can really taste the cream cheese and mayonnaise. I liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
When I put these on the table for lunch my husband looked at me like I was insane. He then took a bit and loved it. The cheese is gooey and a little tangy. I forgot to buy the colby-jack so I used shredded cheddar and they were great. Also, because my husband is convince a meal without meat is only a snack I added some sliced deli ham. The ham makes it a little more difficult to eat the sandwiches as they tend to slide apart. I also added a little fresh cracked pepper and dried dill weed to mine. I will make these again for sure. They are very filling, fast and easy to make. Thanks Sarah for a great weekend lunch recipe that is not boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States