Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
The proportions are ALL wrong. Too much of everything but the cheese! It NEEDS more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Wow, these rocked. I didnt measure anything but just went by my gut as far as the amounts as I was only making two sandwiches. I put garlic powder in the mix as well as on the outside of the bread and also sprinkled some oregeno on the outside of the bread too to give it a bit of an Italian kick. Was so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Family did not care for it.Would be good to fix for a crowd or pot luck.Maybe cut down on the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was tasty. I actually used some extra filling from the "mouth-watering stuffed mushrooms" (which is cream cheese, parmesan, garlic, and onion) for the cream cheese. Added the cheddar and just spread the mayo on the bread. It was pretty rich, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I thought these were really great. I would reduce the mayo and garlic salt just a bit, but that's just my opinion. I added a few slices of turkey breast right before the sandwiches were done. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
We all liked these a lot and they're a nice change from regular grilled cheese. If you don't like the taste of garlic go easy on the garlic salt. We like garlic and really enjoyed the extra tang. Will definitely make again. I had to make a change with the cheese just because I didn't have Colby Jack. I used 2/3 c cheddar and 1/3 c montery jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Great sandwich. A twist from the traditional grilled cheese. Wouldn't make it a constant menu item though for health reasons. Only do for a speacial indulgence. Also great if you add shaved ham and grill as normal. I like to fry my ham up first before I put it on the sandwich to grill. Thanks for the recipe. Lots of ways to enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I appologize but I have to say I'm not a big fan of this one. I think maybe the reviewer who said more cheese half everything else has hit the nail on the head. I'm not a big fan of mayonase though, it was just too overwhelming for me. However, my boyfriend (who loves mayo) thought this was amazing! I do like the idea of grilled cheese on French bread though. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkpigeon
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
[[UPDATE - May 08 - Ha, I am so obsessed with this recipe. Listen, you DON'T have to follow this recipe to a T. I left out the mayo, smell/tasted the garlic powder in the cream cheese, and used as much of the cheese that I wanted. That's what's great about this. You can make this sandwich just as quickly as you can make a regular grilled cheese but it's way better!]] [[Update - Jan 08 - I've been messing around w/ the cream cheese spread from this recipe. I added about a Tspoon of the spread to a personal pesto bowl I was making myself for dinner. The pesto w/the garlicy, creamy, spread created an entirely new pasta sauce altogether. I also use this spread in wraps now, with grilled chicken AND the pesto.]] im never going back to regular grilled cheese! i kinda eyed the measurments but the sandwich still came out great! i made a bowl of tomato soup instead of adding tomatoes and lets just say i've discovered my new favorite lunch menu. very tasty, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe is a great change from traditional grilled cheese. I did take the advice of some reviews. I only used 1/4 c. of mayo and used garlic powder instad of garlic salt. What's great about this recipe is that you can refrigerate the rest and have the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States