Gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I was looking for a grilled cheese sandwich to go with the tomato/basil soup I was making. This sounded good. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used less mayo as others suggested, but ended up putting mayo on my sandwich before I grillled it. It wasn't to die for, but it certainly was better than a gooey, cheesy typical grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I love a nice grilled cheese sandwich with some tomato soup for lunch during the colder months, but wanted something more than the same old tired slice of cheese between bread slices. This is a pretty good sandwich. While I wouldn't say it's really gourmet (which I am actually glad for as some of the gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches I've seen don't sound very good), it is pretty tasty. I reconfigured the serving size to one as I was just making it for myself. Then I made it once as written-it was good but I thought needed some tweaking. So the next time I switched it up to my own preferences. I used the amount of mayo and cream cheese called for, but doubled the shredded cheese as I thought it needed less sauce and more cheese. It made enough of the mix for 3 sandwiches even though I had reduced the servings to one, which meant I had grilled cheese three days in a row-not a problem for me. I also used a little less than the recipe called for of plain garlic powder as there is plenty of salt already in the other ingredients. I chopped up some tomatoes and added them, I used several of my favorite cheeses instead of just the colby and I used a really nice sliced sourdough sandwich bread, then cooked it on my cuisinart griddler so it would cook on both sides at once. I think using a griddle of that type makes a much nicer sandwich. Overall, it's a nice change from plain grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Following the recommendations of other reviewers, I modified this recipe as follows: reduced mayo to 1/2 cup and swapped 1 tsp garlic powder for the garlic salt. I did away with the butter and replaced the sliced bread with what our deli calls a "mini loaf" of French or whole grain Italian bread. Just slathered everything on the open loaf along with sliced tomatoes and sliced ham, closed the loaf and baked for 10 minutes at 350-degrees. The bread came out wonderfully crusty and sliced nicely to make individual sandwiches without the mess of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
It was good, but I made a few variations. I used tomato and basil and mozzarella cheese. I kept the garlic salt and the mayo, but I'll definitely try it next time with very little if any mayo- I don't think it really adds too much, other than calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
very good sandwich i used garlic herb cream cheese and not very much mayo gunna add bacon bits next time and sourdough bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These were very good and my kids devoured them. They were very rich... almost too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Nice take on grilled cheese! Not sure if I'd call it "gourmet", but it definitely takes regular grilled cheese to a new level. I used reduced fat cream cheese and Hellman's light mayo along with just a bit of garlic vs. garlic salt. I added a couple of slices of tomato which took it over the top! Perfect with a bowl of hot soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Just tried this tonight after someone recommended it. It was way too cheesy and garlicky. No one liked it. That is myself- my 9 yr old daughter and 7 yr old son. We will be going back to regular grilled cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My husband loved, loved, loved this sandwich. I too added garlic powder instead of salt and also included some bacon. I really didn't measure out any ingredients just eyeballed it. I definatley didn't use a whole package of cream cheese but used equal amts of cream cheese and cheddar cheese. Was waaaay yummy! Thanks for making the ordinary EXTRAordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I gave this a 3 because there is WAY to much mayo. This is a 5 if you use about 1/4 cup mayo, 4oz cream cheese and granulated garlic. I used chedder cheese because that is all I had also I used fresh baked italian bread. Yummy! Left overs are great is you mound spread on some party rye and toast in the oven until the cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States