Gourmet Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made these for Christmas treats for our dogs and friends' dogs. The brewer's yeast in hard to find, but someone told me not to put bread yeast in it as a substitute because it might hurt the dog. I ended up going to a health food store to find it. My dogs really liked these, and I think it was worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made these biscuits according to the recipe with just one small alteration.... instead of adding 2 cups cracked wheat, I added 1 cup cracked wheat and 1 cup of couscous. The mixture was very plentiful!!..... I should have used my very largest bowl for mixing. I baked them for 45 minutes and cooled them down completely before storing them in several air-tight biscuit tins. My dog and friends' dogs absolutely loved them! For Xmas I cut the dough into Xmas tree and ginger bread man shapes. They were fun. On the ones which I cut with a round scone cutter I put a small piece of dried liver before baking. The biscuits ended up very hard and crisp, and should be very good for the dogs' teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This recipe worked well for me, with a few changes. As with some other reviewers, I couldn't find Brewer's yeast or Cracked wheat (I have since). I substituted oatmeal for the cracked wheat and added 2 T. peanut butter to hot bullion to supplement for the lack of Brewer's yeast. I also omitted the milk "topping". My hound loves them...and she's 16 and pretty darn fussy!! I roll and cut them out different shapes to give her a bit of variety. Thanks for the recipe--got anything with carob for my chocolate lovin' girl?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I made these for my family members dogs and they all loved them!! They have all asked me to make more because their dogs loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I followed the directions exactly and the biscuits didn't harden like I expected it to. They were still fairly soft and they turned moldy after a week. I don't think that I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I also discovered the benefits of leaving milk out of the recipe (regarding spoilage), due to my pet’s food allergy. I have spent a fair share of money on treats for my border collie, Sophie, and she craves these above all others!! Because of these yummy snacks, she is more spoiled than ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Grammy made these for me when my owner was at work. I loved them so much I did all my tricks to get them. My Grammy is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Wonderful treats for our dog! Didi really loves them. A good keeper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
dogs loved them - difficult to mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I've been paying outrageous prices so that my two little cockapoo darlings can have treats. With all my grandkids, great nieces and nephews around, they're inclined to be on sugar highs most of the time because they're just the right size to grab a cookie from a little one. I decided to try this doggie bone treat. They really seem to enjoy it. I make the bones with chicken broth sometimes. They seem to prefer the beef more. After ten hours in the oven, they tend to be pretty darn crunchy! Good jaw and tooth exercise! Thanks Juanita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States