Gourmet Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I only gave this a 3 star review because I've read that corn is not necessarily a good thing to give dogs. There are discussions that address dog allergies to corn and many dog food processors are eliminating it from their recipes. Is there an expert out there that could provide some insight? I want to make these, but would like this answered before I start mixing and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Dogs cannot eat garlic - it accumulates in their organs and can kill them. PLEASE check with a VETERINARY Facility before feeding your dog any homemade treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Garlic is poison to dogs, milk is bad for dogs, most dogs are allergic to any kind of wheat or corn product. It causes skin problems. I am a Veterinary Technician
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I would omit the garlic powder because of the health issues it causes in dogs, such as Heinz-body anemia; especially if you plan of feeding these treats to your dog on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Good with the exception of the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Yes, dogs love these. I found brewers yeast at a health food store in pill form and had to crush them for the recipe. Fun to make! Used oatmeal, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Now, as I haven't tried these out I did notice that if your dog has a sugar problem you should omit the corn meal as that is a sugary product. Also, if you do under bake the dog bisuits you can always go and place the dog cookies back in the shut off oven on a tray when you are done cooking the batch. Let them sit overnight to "dry" this will help with the mold problem after a week. See, your flours are still wet and that green stuff will start to grow. For some of you whom have the mold problems this should fix that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Greene, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
my dog and all my friends dogs just love these. I make them with all organic ingredients and a batch only costs like 6.00 to make and makes a TON of cookies. So much cheaper than those in the stores and my dog likes them better anyways! I love to give them to my friends as gifts for their "fur kids" and it's always appreciated :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Unfortunately, this recipe did not workout for me. The biscuits were hard as a rock. My dog liked the taste but she couldn't break up the treat. I couldn't even break it in half with my hands. I threw them all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I have made my Great Pyrenees treats before but I really liked the healthy ingredients in this one. Instead of the cracked wheat I used oatmeal. I also added some honey a couple tablespoons. I added 3tbs of the brewers yeast because I have been trying to get it into his diet. Big Dog really loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States