Gourmet Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I LOVE this recipe, thank you! It came out much better the 2nd time than the 1st. I think I did a better job sweating the vegetables, and added more pepper to give the soup more bite. As good as any creamed soup I've had in the finest restaurants!!! Marvelous!!! It does freeze very well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Maybe I didn't boil the vegetables long enough or maybe it was because I used low-fat milk instead of cream, but it didn't taste very creamy to me. But I am not complaining, since I am not a huge fan of soups that are too creamy. Not sure if I could call this "gourmet" but the flavor was quite good. I sliced up some day-old bread very thinly and toasted them until crispy and ate with the soup (see photo). It was a lovely simple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is an easy, delicious recipe! My husband and I are on a low carb diet so we alter it slightly. Instead of potatoes we use Cauliflour and celery. cook as directed then we add the cream and chedder cheese! Its great. Top it off with cubed roast chicken beast. Usually comes out to about 7-10 carbs per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I have been looking for a good broccoli soup. I added cheese and used half and half instead of heavy cream. It had a wonderful taste. I will make again. My boyfriend who hates broccoli loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This is a great, easy & fresh receipe. I skipped the potatoes and used organic vegetable soup & it was absolutely wonderful. I'll make it again & again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I LOVED this recipe!!!! I did however omit the potatoes, since i served it as an appetizer. My husband couldn't stop talking about how great it tasted. Will make again....SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
WONDERFUL! I made this for dinner one night and fell in love with this recipe. I used half n half instead of heavy cream to lighten up on the calories. I think it really puts Cream of Broccoli from restaurants to shame. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I scaled this recipe for 20 and maybe that had something to do with the failure..I followed the recipe exactly and it came out watery and quite bland. Won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This was soooo yummy! I love Cream of Broccoli soup. I added a couple carrots which was very good and gave it some color. Also, I only put half the veggies in the blender so that it had some chunks in it. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
What a great soup! Relatively easy to make and it tastes excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States