Gourmet Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Delicious! I used 2 large potatoes to make it more potato-y. I also pureed in my Cuisinart food processor rather than the blender. This soup is good by itself but could also be enhanced with chunks of ham, cheddar cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I have never made broccoli soup and wanted a lighter recipe that avoided all the typical added cheese. And,I needed to use up some leftover mashed potatoes. This recipe was perfect, couldn't have been easier to make and so creamy good. Especially nourishing when made with homemade chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I thought it was a very delicious and tasty dish. However I would recommend leaving the soup a little lumpy or adding whole chunks of broccoli for a better texture. When I made it, I think I overpulsed it, making the texture too smooth and more like runny milkshake than a hearty soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good...I used straight half and half instead of heavy cream for less fat...It came out wonderful. I also used alittle more butter, potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This soup is absolutely delicious! Full of flavor! I set aside 1 cup of steamed broccoli and added it towards the end to give the soup even more chunky flavor. Wonderful recipe that I have already recommended to a few of my "cooking friends". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Genoa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
A great soup!The only cream of broccoli soup I've ever experienced is the kind you get everywhere----a white sauce with chunks of broccoli. This recipe is the real thing! Very easy to prepare; I added a bit of garlic powder and garnished with shredded cheddar, otherwise kept to the recipe. Crusty French baguettes with sweet butter are an excellent "side". I highly recommend this recipe and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was delicious! I'm a baker at the CIA and have little to no COOKING experience (at The Culinary its one or the other) so I was psyched to see this was simple and straight forward without messing around with a roux
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Amazingly great soup!! I have tried many cream of broccoli recipes before but never totally satisfied with the outcome. I chose this recipe because I had never heard of sweating vegtables but it made sense. I highly recommend this soup. My family all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing. I made it with just broccoli last night and today i tried half broccoli half mixed veggies that i had i the fridge. Tastes fantastic!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I've made this two times and am now just getting around to reviewing it. This recipe is a classic, simple preparation and it stands on these two things: 1) Using the freshest, best broccoli, onion and potato you can buy; 2) Following the preparation exactly. A slow, patient sweating process; Stick to this, and it will turn out perfectly. This is the way good food is supposed to taste - without a lot of cover up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States