Gourmet Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Really easy to make and delicious! I substituted half and half for the cream but otherwise stuck to it. I've made it twice and plan to freeze some to see how that goes. Homemade soups are SO much better for you...especially In controlling salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I loved it for the taste and simplicity of making it. I didn't measure out each of the ingredients, but then again I usually don't. I did not do the sweating but did do the step of cooking the veggies for a few minutes prior to the broth. I used four finger potatoes because that is what I had left over in the kitchen. My wife loved it and it went well as an opener for the garlicky pepper shrimp with spinach fettuccine I made for the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I had such high hopes, but was disappointed, it was just ok. You could really taste the broccoli which was good but other than that it was bland. I stuck to the recipe other than doubling it. I even sweated the vegs.. I did use a hand blender so I could leave some bigger pieces in there. Once finished, we tasted but it was bland so I added some garlic salt and some cheese on top. This helped but still not outstanding. ***Update, I tasted it the next day cold and I thought it tasted better, not my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This was yummy. I didn't fully blend it since I wanted some chunkiness and the texture was fairly good. I added bacon and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this for the first time exactly as it said. Outstanding recipe, in my opinion. Next time, soon, I'll add additional chopped, steamed broccoli after the soup is done. I like a lot of broccoli in my soup. One comment, though, even though I used parchment paper, my veggies didn't sweat enough to simmer, so I put a little chicken broth in there to aid in that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a really good broccoli soup. I followed the recipe exactly and used it as a second course for a candle light dinner. Very elegant, very tasty. The guests were definately impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idabug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Devine! I made this for camp, everyone had seconds. I made the soup (up to blending part) at home then transferred to a crockpot and once at camp I turned onto high and added the cream. Flavor and consistency were fantastic. First time I've ever used the "sweating" method and it was fun! I also added some finely chopped zesty cheddar cheese curds that had I had on hand because the men I made this for like cheesy foods. I don't think it was necessary by any means but it was a nice addition. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
perfect! With absolutely no adjustments it turned out with perfect consistency and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitten111
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is an outstanding recipe. I will surely make it again and again. The key I believe is in sweating the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Tasty! I used homemade shrimp broth from a prior meal, no potatoes and, I hand smashed the broccoli. I was drawn to the serving size, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States