Gourmet Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Devine! I made this for camp, everyone had seconds. I made the soup (up to blending part) at home then transferred to a crockpot and once at camp I turned onto high and added the cream. Flavor and consistency were fantastic. First time I've ever used the "sweating" method and it was fun! I also added some finely chopped zesty cheddar cheese curds that had I had on hand because the men I made this for like cheesy foods. I don't think it was necessary by any means but it was a nice addition. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
perfect! With absolutely no adjustments it turned out with perfect consistency and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitten111
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is an outstanding recipe. I will surely make it again and again. The key I believe is in sweating the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Tasty! I used homemade shrimp broth from a prior meal, no potatoes and, I hand smashed the broccoli. I was drawn to the serving size, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was soooo good and easy! I needed to make a larger pot, so I just tripled everything. If you would like it a little thicker, just use a little less broth and a little more potato or a larger potato. You can also grate a little cheese on top and/or bacon. Quick, easy, and great flavor. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Truly Gourmet. The secret here is her method of sweating the onions, potatoes and broccoli - this makes all the difference in the world. I could not use the black pepper because my husband is allergic to it, so I used a shake or two of garlic powder to replace the flavor of the fresh ground black pepper; also, I only had Half & Half on hand, so used that instead of the heavy cream. I can only imagine how much better it will be the next time when I use heavy cream. Remember to use her method of sweating the veggies using parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very creamy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was delicious! To me, this is what cream of broccoli soup is supposed to be! Very fresh and tasty- the texture was very nice too. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettsi
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I added fresh minced garlic with the other vegetables and I skipped the parchment paper step only because I didn't have any. I also used fat free evaporated milk because I don't usually keep whipping cream on hand. This soup tasted turned out rich and creamy--nice "cup" soup as in something to drink. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Really good base recipe. I really loved the flavor and creaminess that the cream cheese gave (I only had whipped cream cheese and it turned out just wonderful). I always use recipes as a base, so I found this to be a great base, kept the potatoes in super small chunks to add to the soup instead of blending them. I also added fresh cooked bacon and my husband put sour cream on the top of his with more bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States