Gourmet Chicken Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Not a bad start, and kind of boring as is, but my additions took this over the top to something truly magnificent! I made the sandwiches on "Bread Machine Focaccia," also from this site. I rubbed the chicken breasts with olive oil, and seasoned them with salt, pepper, and Montreal Chicken Seasoning. I didn't saute them in a skillet, prefering instead to grill them. I also built a "deluxe" version of this sandwich by adding bacon, Romaine lettuce, and sliced tomato. It was out of this world delicious and, paired with "Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup," was a picture perfect summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. A couple of notations I might add. I used lowfat mayo and it had plenty of flavor. Also I grilled some red pepper and red onions in butter in a separate pan and added it on top of the chicken. For the size bread I had there was only enough spread for 2 sandwiches. I would recommend doubling the spread. We will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
FABULOUS! My husband, four kids, and I just loved this sandwich. I quadrupled the dressing - it is just great and will work well on other foods. I topped the sandwiches with roasted red peppers, leaf lettuce, and sliced tomato. Also used a Rosemary Focaccia. My family wants this again tomorrow night for supper! Thanks so much! I cannot say enough good things about this recipe - but I suggest the roasted red peppers and also make extra dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Quick and very tasty! I cooked my chicken on my George Foreman for 5 minutes and threw all the ingredients for the spread in my mini food processor-it took no longer than 10 minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Awesome sandwich! I used some leftover italian herb grilled chicken I had on hand. All I need to add was some roasted red peppers and some cheese. My husband added a bit of bacon to his of course! This was perfect for a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I made this sandwich for a party and people talked about it for weeks. I bought the foccia bread at Panera Bread and sliced in half so I had two large rounds, then added the lettuce, chicken and sauce. Best to slice your chicken thin. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I made my own bread for this- not a focaccia, but a nice french peasant bread. I split it, spread a garlic/rosemary/dill butter on the inside and toasted it... Terrific. I will _try_ it with the foccacia next, just on the off chance, but I cannot see how it could taste better... One comment; the quality of the mustard is very important. The Dijon is the bare _minimum_. I ended up using Pommery, which is a stone ground French mustard. Very, very grainy and thick. Worked so well that I started fantasizing about starting a restaurant so that I could serve this sanddwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I left out the bread and just had the chicken with the spread on top, with some veggies on the side and it made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Good eats. I used Dijonnaise and just added rosemary to that (hey, I'm all about ease over here). I also used perdue thin cuts (thinly cut chicken breast) to save time in the "pounding" area. I used the "easy focaccia" bread recipe from this site (with garlic added) and set out other condiments as in; tomato slices, romain lettuce, sliced red onion, etc. so everyone could create their own. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
EXCELLENT! Upon getting home late tonight and not wanting to really "cook" this was great!! I doubled the sauce (as others suggested), added a DASH of dill/garlic powder. I didn't have (nor could I find) rosemary foccica bread...just "plain" focciacia worked great for us. Added a leaf of lettuce and a slice of deli colby jack cheese....mmmmmmmmmm. Easy AND delicious! What a great combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States