Gourmet Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Tasty but did not blow my socks off. First, I used 10 med size potatoes and although I followed the recipe regarding the cheese/milk/soup mix, I only poured about 3/4 over all...I could tell that there would be excess of sauce. Sure enough, when I served, I let it sit 10 minutes before serving hoping that the cheese would thicken, but it was still very runny. Now, I am a cheese lover...I mean cheese tops almost everything in our house, esspecially potatoes but after this cheesy meal, I have had my fill of cheese to last a week. IF I make again, I will use more potatoes (or larger ones), use 1 can of soup, half the milk, half the processed cheese and less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Incredibly delicious! Instead of placing the mixture into a baking dish and then into the oven, I put it in my large crock pot and keep it warm that way. It's great for potlucks & family gatherings and more "gourmet" than scalloped potatoes! It's always a hit wherever I bring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
These were great! I used garlic & onion powders instead of the minced onion (just lazy that night) and sprinkled dried onion rings on the top. I didn't use quite as much sour cream & didn't measure the cheddar cheese (just sprinkled until the top was covered). It was even better warmed up a few nights later!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Yummy!!! I even made this a little easier by using a bag of Simply Potatoes (for every 5 servings), which are diced uncooked potatoes with onion. The disadvantage is that since that means you also skip the step where the potatoes are cooked, they end up not being quite as tender as they could be. Maybe there is a solution for that. But for busy working moms, it still turned out very tasty and pretty quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
i only had 1 can of cheddar so i used that & 1 can cream of mushroom, i used 3/4 c milk and only 1/2 lb "processed cheese" and this recipe was STILL entirely too artificial cheese tasting. "dotting" the butter on top, when you take the potatoes out of the oven the grease runs everywhere its EXTREMELY unattractive. this recipe needs alot of doctoring, its a heart attack in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Another five star recipe on Allrecipes.com. Is this a great website or what? These potatoes are excellent. Very quick, very easy, and very tasty. I boiled the potatoes and then just slashed trough them with a knife while they were still in the pan. No need to cool them first. The sauce looked runny, but thickened up while in the oven. I'll be making this recipe again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was amazing. Everyone loved it. I don't know how anyone can compaling about it. Very cheesy! I tried some havarti and jalapeno cheese in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Code-Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Gourmet INDEED!! These were wonderful. I didn't add the cheese soup because I didn't have any, but they still turned out great. I added crunched bacon and chives on it for the last 10 minutes. This will definitely become a family staple in our house. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These were good but need a little extra flavor. I may try to add a half package of ranch dressing mix or something. But everyone really liked these, I would reduce the recipe because these weren't really good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hampton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
These were pretty good! I tried to halve the recipe, but just guessed with the ammount of potatoes, I think I used 10 small ones. Anyway, this yielded so much that I had to use an 11' by 7' baking dish and was wondering if the whole recipe would have fit into the 9' by 13' ... I also had a little bit of spillage in the oven (not too much though) This taste was nice and my husband said, four stars. I omitted the onion due to personal preference. Also I sliced my potatoes, scalloped style, instead of cubing them. I liked this recipe and would make it again, seems good to bring to a get together. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States