Gourmet Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Yummy!!! I even made this a little easier by using a bag of Simply Potatoes (for every 5 servings), which are diced uncooked potatoes with onion. The disadvantage is that since that means you also skip the step where the potatoes are cooked, they end up not being quite as tender as they could be. Maybe there is a solution for that. But for busy working moms, it still turned out very tasty and pretty quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This is the best side dish recipe! I have made this several times. It is a great side dish to bring to a family gathering. Brings rave reviews! This is going to be a recipe with my family for a long time to come! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYDTHOMAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe! My husband loves these things so much that he hogs the whole pan! =o) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I made these one time & now they have become a staple. My husband loves them & my best friend demands them every time we have a cook-out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great flavor, very easy to prepare. I caramelized the onions prior to baking them with the potatoes to give the recipe a sweet flavor, but over all it was a great dish. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Tasty but did not blow my socks off. First, I used 10 med size potatoes and although I followed the recipe regarding the cheese/milk/soup mix, I only poured about 3/4 over all...I could tell that there would be excess of sauce. Sure enough, when I served, I let it sit 10 minutes before serving hoping that the cheese would thicken, but it was still very runny. Now, I am a cheese lover...I mean cheese tops almost everything in our house, esspecially potatoes but after this cheesy meal, I have had my fill of cheese to last a week. IF I make again, I will use more potatoes (or larger ones), use 1 can of soup, half the milk, half the processed cheese and less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
These were great! I used garlic & onion powders instead of the minced onion (just lazy that night) and sprinkled dried onion rings on the top. I didn't use quite as much sour cream & didn't measure the cheddar cheese (just sprinkled until the top was covered). It was even better warmed up a few nights later!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I was going to make this for a family Xmas dinner, but woke up Xmas morning w/ a nasty stomach virus. Had my DH make it, and my brother picked it up to take it to the dinner. Everyone said it was great, but when I tried it the next day (made a double recipe), I thought it was way too rich & had to toss the rest. DH had no clue why everyone said they loved it either, and we have no plans to make it again. **He even left out the butter**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
These were pretty good! I tried to halve the recipe, but just guessed with the ammount of potatoes, I think I used 10 small ones. Anyway, this yielded so much that I had to use an 11' by 7' baking dish and was wondering if the whole recipe would have fit into the 9' by 13' ... I also had a little bit of spillage in the oven (not too much though) This taste was nice and my husband said, four stars. I omitted the onion due to personal preference. Also I sliced my potatoes, scalloped style, instead of cubing them. I liked this recipe and would make it again, seems good to bring to a get together. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I messed up and forgot to buy cheese soup. I used 7 large potatoes and everything but the cheese soup but I added 1 cup of alfredo sauce.I think that's the way to go. It was awesome. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States