Gourmet Cheese Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Definately a favorite at our house. Lost the recipe and was so relieved to be able to come back and find it. A Christmas hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I made this for a party to serve 50 people. It was a huge hit. Very easy to make. Instead of chopping the cook potatoes, I slightly smashed them with a masher, much easier and less time consuming. And I didn't have to wait until cool. I also added a little garlic to the tatos. And used about 2 cups of cheddar for topping, per pan. Will use every pot luck, esp. for large groups.. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I messed up and forgot to buy cheese soup. I used 7 large potatoes and everything but the cheese soup but I added 1 cup of alfredo sauce.I think that's the way to go. It was awesome. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
These were pretty good! I tried to halve the recipe, but just guessed with the ammount of potatoes, I think I used 10 small ones. Anyway, this yielded so much that I had to use an 11' by 7' baking dish and was wondering if the whole recipe would have fit into the 9' by 13' ... I also had a little bit of spillage in the oven (not too much though) This taste was nice and my husband said, four stars. I omitted the onion due to personal preference. Also I sliced my potatoes, scalloped style, instead of cubing them. I liked this recipe and would make it again, seems good to bring to a get together. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I was going to make this for a family Xmas dinner, but woke up Xmas morning w/ a nasty stomach virus. Had my DH make it, and my brother picked it up to take it to the dinner. Everyone said it was great, but when I tried it the next day (made a double recipe), I thought it was way too rich & had to toss the rest. DH had no clue why everyone said they loved it either, and we have no plans to make it again. **He even left out the butter**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
These were great! I used garlic & onion powders instead of the minced onion (just lazy that night) and sprinkled dried onion rings on the top. I didn't use quite as much sour cream & didn't measure the cheddar cheese (just sprinkled until the top was covered). It was even better warmed up a few nights later!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Tasty but did not blow my socks off. First, I used 10 med size potatoes and although I followed the recipe regarding the cheese/milk/soup mix, I only poured about 3/4 over all...I could tell that there would be excess of sauce. Sure enough, when I served, I let it sit 10 minutes before serving hoping that the cheese would thicken, but it was still very runny. Now, I am a cheese lover...I mean cheese tops almost everything in our house, esspecially potatoes but after this cheesy meal, I have had my fill of cheese to last a week. IF I make again, I will use more potatoes (or larger ones), use 1 can of soup, half the milk, half the processed cheese and less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great flavor, very easy to prepare. I caramelized the onions prior to baking them with the potatoes to give the recipe a sweet flavor, but over all it was a great dish. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I made these one time & now they have become a staple. My husband loves them & my best friend demands them every time we have a cook-out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe! My husband loves these things so much that he hogs the whole pan! =o) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States