Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I love the idea of chocolate and caramel, but this was too heavy. The chocolate masked the apple and caramel flavors. Maybe just drizzle the chocolate on for a little flavor in every bite. They are easy to make and lovely to look at. We gave a bunch as gifts to happy recipients. Make sure to select a good, tart apple that can stand up to this much sugar. And I would skip the boiling water part next time as it softened the skins so much that they started peeling off. Maybe that was my fault for leaving them in the water for a good ten seconds. This is a great idea and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Skipped the boiling part as well as using candy bars and opted just for chocolate chips, both white and milk chocolate. These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I did this with chocolate chips. I think next time (and I will do this again) I will do about half the chocolate. They are good! We added nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
These were really tasty! I wish I had some tips on making these though. I'm sure there's a better way than the way I did it. Messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I used Werther's (sp?) candies in place of the caramel, topped with semi-sweet chocolate, then lightly salted peanuts (to offset the sweet). Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Time consuming but worth it! I didn't use the microwave for anythingin this recipe. Instead I did it the old fashioned way. Over a double boiler on the stove. I can control the temp of the candies that way. I also put the apples in the fridge for about 30 minutes in between each application of candy. This chilled the aplles so dipping wouldn't create a big blobby mess of caramel & chocolate. I bought white chocolate & melted it & added color into it instead of buying the colored stuff. I got lots & kudos for these apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have actually been making caramel apples this way for some time. I sell them to people in my office around the holiday's! On poster commented that they would skip the boiling water part. I would recommend against this. The reason for boiling the apples is to remove the wax from the skin and help the caramel stick to the apple better. They only need to be dipped in the boiling water for a few seconds though, not left in. I just roll mine through the water and remove them. Although dipping them in chocolate might seem overwhelming to some people, be careful if you try to make them without coating them in something. Despite the fact that the caramel hardens, it WILL stick to cellophane if it is not coated in something. I don't sell plain ones because of this. I recommend trying this recipe different ways. I use mini M&M's or Reese's pieces, crushed oreos, nuts, sprinkles, etc. They go over very well with everyone who has had them thus far! The most popular are the ones I roll in nuts and then dip in chocolate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I used milk instead of water with the caramels and it tasted great! I used Planter's sweet and salty trail mix to cover the apples much easier than mixing assorted nuts and chocolates together. I think I'll make these apples for party favors for my daughter's b-day party in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Don't skip dipping the apples into boiling water, the caramel may not hold with wax on the apple. Try using milk chocolate chips and simply melt those. I personally love melting a few squares of Bakers white chocolate and adding a tablespoon or so of peanut butter to that and when melted drizzling it all over the apple. HIGHLY Recommended recipe, I made these several times within the last few days. I only get 2 large apples out of this recipe or 3 small ones, but I REALLY dip my apples into the chocolate for full and thick coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States