Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Nikkivazquez
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I almost wish I could give these 4 1/2 stars because they were alot of work and were soo soo very messy. The end product turned out great and so it was well worth the efford. I couldnt find any orange candy melts and so I used melted white chocolate with a little bit of orange food coloring. I Would differently make again but definately not til next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkivazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great recipe. I am sure I will use it again and again. Very, very sweet but yummy! I was only able to get 6 "small" apples with the caramel and I used a 12 oz bag of milk chocolate chips. I did drop the apples in hot water for only a second and you could see the wax so I would recommend this step. The only problem I had was dipping it in the chocolate. With the apples being chilled after the caramel step the chocolate wanted to set up too fast. I had to use a knife to help spread it. But after drizzling it with orange colored white chocolate you couldn't see any flaws. They looked awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rika
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were gorgeous when they were finished. For some reason the amount of caramel did not cover the 5 apples very well and the amount of chocolate only covered 4 of them. Is there a trick to getting the perfect amount on the apples? and the boiling water bruised them. they were fine on the inside but it was an odd sight. next time ill just wash them well to get the wax off. I used white chocolate dyed orange for the drizzle on the outside and i liked that a lot. They looked great on my halloween table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are awesome and satisfied my craving for caramel-chocolate apples. They look so professional. I dipped mine in caramel, then some in crushed butterfingers and some in chopped snickers. I let them set up in the fridge and then dipped them in chocolate. Yum. I, like others, used chocolate chips instead of baker's chocolate. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These area awesome! I love caramel apples and have been looking for the perfect recipe! My 11 year old daughter and I made them for her teachers for Halloween and we dipped pretzel rods for her class. We followed recipe exactly except we rolled in different candies and didn't use the shortening in the chocolate. Very time consuming but definately worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i tried to do this with white chocolate and the chocolate didn't stick well/didnt set. what did i do wrong/how can i do it better....help please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Super easy and my little loves em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Steward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Don't skip dipping the apples into boiling water, the caramel may not hold with wax on the apple. Try using milk chocolate chips and simply melt those. I personally love melting a few squares of Bakers white chocolate and adding a tablespoon or so of peanut butter to that and when melted drizzling it all over the apple. HIGHLY Recommended recipe, I made these several times within the last few days. I only get 2 large apples out of this recipe or 3 small ones, but I REALLY dip my apples into the chocolate for full and thick coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I used milk instead of water with the caramels and it tasted great! I used Planter's sweet and salty trail mix to cover the apples much easier than mixing assorted nuts and chocolates together. I think I'll make these apples for party favors for my daughter's b-day party in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have actually been making caramel apples this way for some time. I sell them to people in my office around the holiday's! On poster commented that they would skip the boiling water part. I would recommend against this. The reason for boiling the apples is to remove the wax from the skin and help the caramel stick to the apple better. They only need to be dipped in the boiling water for a few seconds though, not left in. I just roll mine through the water and remove them. Although dipping them in chocolate might seem overwhelming to some people, be careful if you try to make them without coating them in something. Despite the fact that the caramel hardens, it WILL stick to cellophane if it is not coated in something. I don't sell plain ones because of this. I recommend trying this recipe different ways. I use mini M&M's or Reese's pieces, crushed oreos, nuts, sprinkles, etc. They go over very well with everyone who has had them thus far! The most popular are the ones I roll in nuts and then dip in chocolate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States