Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Oh, these are fun to make and turn out beautifully! For anyone else who might worry about it as I did: the caramel stage didn't look as smooth as I would have liked. I was worried it would make the apple look bad in the end. But once I melted (Nestle milk chocolate) chips with the shortening and dipped the apple in it, it looked great. The chocolate went on much easier than the caramel. I lightly coated it in sprinkles and it's really cute! I'm thinking about white chocolate with crushed peppermint for Christmas gifts. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I really didn't like this recipe. The caramel I used got used up so quickly. I like chocolate and caramel together, by the chocolate wasn't creamy enough. I kept adding time onto the microwave to melt it more, but the choclate just burned. That was a waste of my time, apples (I didn't want to, but I spent $1 on each apple. I like organic, but I wanted them to be big.), caramel, CHOCOLATE :(, and water (It took me 2 hours to scrub my bowls clean!!!!!) I rarely give 1 and 2 stars, but I think this recipe really deserved it. :) sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made these as for a "girls night in" favor. They were great. I used chocolate melting disks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I love caramel apples and so does my family. This was the first time I made them. Make sure you boil the apples to remove the wax that is on them or your caramel will slide off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made these for Halloween and they were insanely delicious.We couldn't keep our hands off of them.Layering chocolate over the caramel is the trick that makes them sooo tasty and I have to say they were pretty easy and fun to make.Every one of mine looked different,I put nuts on some,sprnkles on others......These are now a Halloween tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine LaRocca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
So good! These turned out wonderful...and I did exactly what the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I've made these twice now. The second time turned out better than the first. Here's what I did. I started with cold apples so it would harden the caramel faster and hold more. Be sure to scrape the caramel off the bottom of the apple before setting it on the waxed paper otherwise there will be a big pool of caramel underneath the apple once it sets. Instead of dipping in the chocolate I drizzled it on with a spoon (omitted the shortening). The first time I made them I dipped them but the chocolate was too warm and it started to make the caramel slide off. It doesn't matter how neat you do it because once you put on the candy coating you won't really be able to see it. I put them back in the fridge to harden then proceeded with the candy coating. I omitted the shortening again but it wouldn't drizzle so I put it in a sandwich bag and cut a small piece off the corner and drizzled it on that way. I bought thick lollipop sticks from Michael's (the small ones are too flimsy) and expandable treat bags. Once I had them all assembled with a tag and curling ribbon they were beautiful. Everyone at the baby shower I brought them too for favors couldn't believe I made them. I was really worried about them melting after being out of the fridge but they survived in a 75 degree house for 4 hours and showed no sign of melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
These were a huge hit at a Halloween party I went to! They are not too messy or too sweet with both the caramel and the chocolate as other reviewers said. I make candy and goodies similar to this every Chritmas. A few suggestions: the apples DO need to be dipped (individually) in a LARGE pot of boiling water for about 5 seconds and then wiped dry and set aside to cool (a large pot because you don't want them sitting too close to the bottom or sides) , you don't need shortening if you buy good chocolate (if it gets too thick reheat it or add a little vegitable oil), and finally they do need to be dipped in chocolate or some other kind of coating (nuts, cookie crumbs, etc.) so that the caramel doesn't stick to the plastic wrap when you open them up to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
These were yummy! I was able to make 5 medium sized apples. I did not skip the boiling of the apples. I did melt chocolate chips instead of a candy bar and that worked well. And for my third flavor I melted some peanut butter chips and added a little bit of that after the chocolate hardened. Those were my husbands favorite. I also made some with salted peanuts. I just stuck the peanuts on before the chocolate hardened. Those were my favorite. The tart apple, sweet caramel and chocolate, and salty peanuts--Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Yum!! You can't beat this classic (and the added chocolate - DELICIOUS!!)...I just melted some milk chocolate chips w/ a bit of oil in the microwave and didn't dip the apples in it - just spooned some on here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States