Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by angell326
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I prefer to use decorator's chocolate because it's so easy to work with and no need for shortening. Also, instead of wasting money on wax paper that the caramel sticks to anyway, get a silicone baking liner. No need to spray it with anyting, the apples just don't stick to it. It's fabulous and reusable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Made these at Halloween and they were the hit of the night with our neighbor kids as well as my own teens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I love making these for people and watching their face when I give it to them. It really is gourmet looking and they can't believe I made it. This year for our Christmas Eve dinner, I used them for the name tags for the plates. (See picture). Everyone loved it and they got to take it home for a treat later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very easy and a lot of fun to make. Add your own variations, you can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was a little time consuming but so worth it. I made mine with pecans with white choclate drizzled over it. I would definately recommend chilling the apples well after the caramel I did for 20 min and it wasn't long enough the caramel wanted to slip off when I dipped it into the chocolate. I pay $7.00 each for one of thses at a local chocolate store that sells them. Now I can make myself and taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I love this recipe but It is very time consuming and I tried to add mini m&m' s but that didn't work out at all they just slid right off. Also If you use a microwave the caramel hardens way to fast you really need to use a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by iluvbacon
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I love this recipe!!! The one i did came out perfect!!! My kids and their classmates had fun with it too!!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvbacon
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great recipe. I took the advice of another reviewer and only left the apples in the boiling water for a few seconds. They turned out great following the directions. My kids helped with these and it was a nice project for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent. I made them extra-special by using a Hershey's bar that had crisp (like a Crunch bar). Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I tripled the recipe for my son's school and it really did only take one pkg of caramels per 5 apples. I used Kraft caramels b/c I think they taste better than other brands. I dropped the apples in boiling water for 3 seconds each to remove the wax coating, however in the future I do not think I will do this since it turned the peel a slightly off, darkish color. Thankfully, it did not effect the inside of the apple at all. After chilling the apples, I dipped them in the caramel, then chilled them again for 1 hour. I then melted milk chocolate chips in the microwave according to pkg directions with a little shortening for the chocolate dip, then chilled once more for another hour. I also melted white chocolate chips the same way as the milk chocolate, added some Wilton candy coloring gel, and drizzled over the apples, adding some festive sprinkles. Overall the recipe is a little time consuming with the steps. However, these looked first class and tasted divine! Very rich though - great for sharing. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzylolipop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States