Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I just made these first time making caramel apples. It was so easy and did not take long. I do bake often. So, if you do not then you may think this takes long or too many steps. I've learned if you don't skimp on buying good caramel and good chocolate it makes things delicious and easier. I did give this a four star only because the caramel did droop to the bottom a bit. So, my nuts were at the bottom. Thank you for a great recipe my family and I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DPMom
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This recipe does take a lot longer than 50 min. I allowed the Carmel to dry for an hour before using chocolate. I was disappointed in the amount of Carmel that did slide off the apples. The chocolate looked beautiful at first and then it too did slide in several places. I used Kraft Carmel's, Ghirardelli milk chocolate, pecans and marshmallows. I also did a few in dark chocolate. I was only able to cover 4 large Granny Smith apples with this recipe. These were made for Teacher Appreciation Week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I just used some dark chocolate sweet baking squares I had leftover for the top w/o shortening, then topped with finely crushed pecans. Worked well and was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I love making these! It's easy and I had so much fun adding different things and making them "pretty". Everyone raved about how pretty they were and that they tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I LOVE these!!! I make them for my children to give to their teachers and dance instructors. They make the perfect gift and are SOOO Delicious!! I also buy Apple Boxes from Box and Wrap. I let my kids decorate the boxes which gives it an extra special touch. http://www.boxandwrap.com/appleboxes.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Make for Halloween apples every year. Surprisingly easy and lots of fun with the kids..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made these for a fundraiser and they were one of the first things to go. I used extra caramels and melted milk chocolate wafers purchased at the bulk food store. My toppings ranged from sprinkles to coloured sugar, it depends on your target audience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke'smom
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Good recipe a ton of work. When I read other reviews saying the same thing I thought no way but yes it's a lot of work. I doubled the recipe and it made 12 beautiful apples. A word of advice let the caramel set on the apples in the fridge for an hour. I waited the 15 minuted that the recipe calls for and when I dipped the chocolate layer ALL of the chocolate ran off it was horrible. Once we let them sit in the fridge we were able to go back and re-dip them. Also cut the amount of shorting in half I really feel that's why I ran into trouble. Now that I know how these work I will be making them again but giving myself more time and patience;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great recipe that you can let your imagination run with. I like to use Dove chocolate and I don't add the shortening. I used two bags and piped it on as decoration. If I wanted to dip the apples into the chocolate to coat the entire thing, I would have needed four bags. Regardless, they are delicious. It is easiest to pipe the chocolate on if you hold the apple by the stick and turn it as you pipe it. I like Mis7ups pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Easy and fun! My apples were very waxed, so I had to dip them in the boiling water and rub them with towel to get it all off. Carmel stuck well. Refrigerated for about 30 minutes as I got all the toppings ready...crushed Oreos, candy corn, marshmallows, chopped peanuts, and M & M's. After dipped in chocolate, everything to decorate was right there at hand. Did both white and milk chocolate. These are easy and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States