Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicious and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I will need to be a little more patient next time. They are definetely fun, kids really enjoyed decorating! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Loved these. Try cutting in pieces to serve. YUM turtles chocolate meets sour apple. The CARAMEL SOLUTION!! Took wax off the apples rolling them through a quick boiling water bath. I did the caramel in the double boiler (just until smooth but not too runny) dipped apples & wiped excess off bottoms and dipped quickly in COLD water (not above the "caramel line") then smoothed caramel with wet hands patted dry on tea towel then put in fridge for 20min I had no problems with caramel coming off the apples. While I did the chocolate in the double boiler I made caramel strings just rolling/pulling excess caramel from pot. dipped cooled apples in dark chocolate rolled in chopped pecans placed caramel strings on apples and then drizzled with melted chocolate from a baggie with tip cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Every couple of yr I buy a 5# box of bulk caramel (only $23) from our local candy/cake store. Far easier for arthritic hands. Agree that if using apples from most stores, including organic, ARE coated with edible wax, so don't forget the boiling water dip---moments only. If able, purchase apples at a local ranch straight off the tree. These have no coating and are much smaller (tennis ball to fist size) than the lovely, showy ones sold at Saks and $$$$ stores. The upside is that peeeps can each have their own without feeling overwhelmed. Agree with refrig between coatings. Fav caramel-melting vessel for med-sm apples is my 2cup Pyrex measuring cup. Find it easy to dip/roll the apples without burning my hands or melting way too much. There is always leftover caramel, so tis easy to reheat and pour/scrape into a container to re-use (using "clean" technique assumed....no fingers, contaminants, etc.) Have had caramel last 2+ yr. wrapped in a plastic bag in a cool spot in the house. Surprisingly, no ants nor other pests so far. Yum....making these and choc/caramel/smoked almond turtles this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
The caramel was too hard. Not sure if it makes a difference what kind of caramels you use? I bought the bulk individually wrapped ones. They were so hard to bite into and sticky it spoiled the apples. Kind of a waste when you spend all that $ on the chocolate, apples crushed candy bars etc.. Maybe if you add butter when melting the caramels it would make a differnce. Don't think i will make them again, not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Town Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent! This here is good Halloween eatin' on a stick and somethin' to hob nob with in your hand fer them fancier parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Really fun recipe that you can personalize to your liking! Easy to make, too! We did not use the chocolate layer. Instead we dipped in caramel, rolled in a variety of toppings (crushed Snickers, crushed M&M's, chopped nuts, crushed Oreos, etc) and then drizzled semi sweet chocolate. They were delicious and a huge success at our pumpkin carving party. I would suggest either chilling the appled before putting on the caramel, or placing each apple in the fridge as soon as you apply the caramel. This w
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Followed this recipe for the caramel and the steps, but dipped some in melted pure white chocolate chips, rolled in chopped pecans, drizzled more white chocolate around the tops and sprinkled that with apple pie spice mixed with raw sugar. For the rest, we mixed peanut butter with semisweet chocolate chips to dip in, then rolled in candy coated sunflower seeds. The recipe made enough caramel coating to cover six apples that were on the small side. There was no need to mix shortening into semisweet chocolate to drizzle it, but the white chocolate was harder to drizzle. After it was melted, putting it into a small baggie and cutting a corner off made it easier to drizzle. Pitfalls: the caramel stuck to the greased wax paper. I will try someone else's suggestion and use my silpat next time. Even after boiling the wax off the apples, the caramel still slid down the apple and pooled at the bottom. Scrape as much caramel off the bottom of the apple as you can after dipping. After letting it set up in the fridge, the caramel was still pliable so I 'pulled' it back up the apple and patted it back in place. Dipping in the warm chocolate caused the caramel to start to fall again as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were so much fun to make! I made sure to have extra caramels & extra chocolate just in case. It came in handy b/c of course I did mess up & needed to correct it. I bought the caramels that came w/the wooden craft sticks (Kraft I think). I used hersheys milk chocolate chips instead of candy bars. I also used orange melting wafers & white almond bark to decorate with. After I melted the white & orange, I put them in baggies and made a small snip in the corner and just applied it that way. Whatever technique works though right. Oh, they are beautiful and so, so much fun! Thank you djnewlon!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These apples turn out beautiful! I made this recipe and gave the apples as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States