Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Time consuming but worth it! I didn't use the microwave for anythingin this recipe. Instead I did it the old fashioned way. Over a double boiler on the stove. I can control the temp of the candies that way. I also put the apples in the fridge for about 30 minutes in between each application of candy. This chilled the aplles so dipping wouldn't create a big blobby mess of caramel & chocolate. I bought white chocolate & melted it & added color into it instead of buying the colored stuff. I got lots & kudos for these apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I used Werther's (sp?) candies in place of the caramel, topped with semi-sweet chocolate, then lightly salted peanuts (to offset the sweet). Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are awesome and satisfied my craving for caramel-chocolate apples. They look so professional. I dipped mine in caramel, then some in crushed butterfingers and some in chopped snickers. I let them set up in the fridge and then dipped them in chocolate. Yum. I, like others, used chocolate chips instead of baker's chocolate. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Don't skip dipping the apples into boiling water, the caramel may not hold with wax on the apple. Try using milk chocolate chips and simply melt those. I personally love melting a few squares of Bakers white chocolate and adding a tablespoon or so of peanut butter to that and when melted drizzling it all over the apple. HIGHLY Recommended recipe, I made these several times within the last few days. I only get 2 large apples out of this recipe or 3 small ones, but I REALLY dip my apples into the chocolate for full and thick coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have actually been making caramel apples this way for some time. I sell them to people in my office around the holiday's! On poster commented that they would skip the boiling water part. I would recommend against this. The reason for boiling the apples is to remove the wax from the skin and help the caramel stick to the apple better. They only need to be dipped in the boiling water for a few seconds though, not left in. I just roll mine through the water and remove them. Although dipping them in chocolate might seem overwhelming to some people, be careful if you try to make them without coating them in something. Despite the fact that the caramel hardens, it WILL stick to cellophane if it is not coated in something. I don't sell plain ones because of this. I recommend trying this recipe different ways. I use mini M&M's or Reese's pieces, crushed oreos, nuts, sprinkles, etc. They go over very well with everyone who has had them thus far! The most popular are the ones I roll in nuts and then dip in chocolate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rika
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were gorgeous when they were finished. For some reason the amount of caramel did not cover the 5 apples very well and the amount of chocolate only covered 4 of them. Is there a trick to getting the perfect amount on the apples? and the boiling water bruised them. they were fine on the inside but it was an odd sight. next time ill just wash them well to get the wax off. I used white chocolate dyed orange for the drizzle on the outside and i liked that a lot. They looked great on my halloween table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
These were really tasty! I wish I had some tips on making these though. I'm sure there's a better way than the way I did it. Messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I used milk instead of water with the caramels and it tasted great! I used Planter's sweet and salty trail mix to cover the apples much easier than mixing assorted nuts and chocolates together. I think I'll make these apples for party favors for my daughter's b-day party in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Super easy and my little loves em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Steward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These area awesome! I love caramel apples and have been looking for the perfect recipe! My 11 year old daughter and I made them for her teachers for Halloween and we dipped pretzel rods for her class. We followed recipe exactly except we rolled in different candies and didn't use the shortening in the chocolate. Very time consuming but definately worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States