Gourmet Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have actually been making caramel apples this way for some time. I sell them to people in my office around the holiday's! On poster commented that they would skip the boiling water part. I would recommend against this. The reason for boiling the apples is to remove the wax from the skin and help the caramel stick to the apple better. They only need to be dipped in the boiling water for a few seconds though, not left in. I just roll mine through the water and remove them. Although dipping them in chocolate might seem overwhelming to some people, be careful if you try to make them without coating them in something. Despite the fact that the caramel hardens, it WILL stick to cellophane if it is not coated in something. I don't sell plain ones because of this. I recommend trying this recipe different ways. I use mini M&M's or Reese's pieces, crushed oreos, nuts, sprinkles, etc. They go over very well with everyone who has had them thus far! The most popular are the ones I roll in nuts and then dip in chocolate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Time consuming but worth it! I didn't use the microwave for anythingin this recipe. Instead I did it the old fashioned way. Over a double boiler on the stove. I can control the temp of the candies that way. I also put the apples in the fridge for about 30 minutes in between each application of candy. This chilled the aplles so dipping wouldn't create a big blobby mess of caramel & chocolate. I bought white chocolate & melted it & added color into it instead of buying the colored stuff. I got lots & kudos for these apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I used Werther's (sp?) candies in place of the caramel, topped with semi-sweet chocolate, then lightly salted peanuts (to offset the sweet). Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
These were really tasty! I wish I had some tips on making these though. I'm sure there's a better way than the way I did it. Messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I did this with chocolate chips. I think next time (and I will do this again) I will do about half the chocolate. They are good! We added nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Skipped the boiling part as well as using candy bars and opted just for chocolate chips, both white and milk chocolate. These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I love the idea of chocolate and caramel, but this was too heavy. The chocolate masked the apple and caramel flavors. Maybe just drizzle the chocolate on for a little flavor in every bite. They are easy to make and lovely to look at. We gave a bunch as gifts to happy recipients. Make sure to select a good, tart apple that can stand up to this much sugar. And I would skip the boiling water part next time as it softened the skins so much that they started peeling off. Maybe that was my fault for leaving them in the water for a good ten seconds. This is a great idea and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States