Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I thought the base recipe was great. I left out half the water, no tom paste, no crushed tom. I added my own homemade stewed tomatos, a can of diced tom, and only 1 large can of tom sauce. I added garlic directly to the meat mixture and worchshire sauce. I also used whole wheat elbow noodles (no one can even notice). then wa-lah perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ametz15
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I really didnt like this recipe, mine turned out really thick and it had to much tomato in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
We liked it okay, but way too many tomatoes. I cut back and still had too many tomatoes. If I make next time, I will one can of each (max)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made this as directed but without the mushrooms and nobody in my family liked this. I ended up covering the whole thing in spaghetti sauce just to salvage it. It was bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe is really excellent. I did read over the reviews before I made it, and agreed that there was too much of a tomato base. I omitted the stewed tomatoes, and only used a small can of tomato sauce. I also used diced tomatoes. I only used a scoop of tomato paste. I added a touch more white sugar, and stayed true to the rest of the ingredients. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
added chile powder and diced red peppers. great flavor. i have also used this for hamburger mac and added dill relish and mustard for a "burger" taste. surprisingly rich meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Lowell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I increased this recipe to feed 50 people and made it for a Halloween party for the Motor City Eagles and it turned out great. I left out the corn and peas and forgot to add the cheese, but it was a hit. Will definitely make it again but maybe only for 30 people this time cause we had lots left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
great hearty winter meal! I followed suggestions and omitted the tomato paste and I also used a can of mixed veggies. Love that this has so many variations and options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Doucet
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made it 2 times now. Great if you are not into the soupy style Goulash, Love the lightly sweet fresh taste. Great hardy meal that kids like too. Which I did leave out the mushrooms and peas. It was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a good recipe! I also thought the tomato base was a little too over powering but to change that all I had to do was cut out the tomato paste, and I used diced tomatoes w/ Basil instead of stewed. I also wanted mine to be a little less "watery" so I omitted the water and just used the juices from the canned tomotoes. My son is allergic to peas and corn so I made him a bowl excluding those ingredients and adding diced carrots & Broccoli. This is a very versatile recipe where you can add spice, take away, use different meats such as sausage, hamburger, stew meat, etc. The same with vegetables according to your likes and dislikes! Have fun with it, and find the right niche for your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States