Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I really liked this dish, in fact it was hard not to have thirds. I followed some of the suggestions in the reviews, like eliminate the peas, tomato paste, 1 can of the tomato sauce, the water, and the sugar. I added a diced zucchini in with the beef/onion/peppers/mushrooms mix, and used one big can of San Marzano tomatoes instead of the stewed/diced tomato combo. It also needs more seasoning, in my opinion, so I added a heaping tablespoon of paprika, a tablespoon of oregano, and a generous amount of garlic salt. I cooked my macaroni separately but I suppose if you throw in the uncooked pasta into the goulash you can make this a one-pot dish, but you might want the extra water in that case. This recipe was quick to put together, relatively healthy with all the veggies in the mix, and downright tasty. Will definitely be working this one into the rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
A bit bland. For the leftovers i added 8oz Cream Cheese to it and it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASunleaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Left out the mushrooms as my husband hates them. Otherwise made as written. Made a LOT of goulash so you had better like leftovers. Very good comfort food. I will probably end up freezing some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious! My husband doesn't really like goulash, but he liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
2nd time I've made this so this time, I made a couple changes I thought I'd pass on: I replaced the corn and peas with a couple cans of southwestern style corn (corn, onion, black beans, red bell pepper). I also used rosemary/oregano diced (with liquid) for the tomatoes and let everything (minus the sauce, paste and water) simmer down to a nice thick sauce. I replaced the tomato sauce, paste and water and with good old tomato juice until it was the consistency I prefer. I did keep all the other ingredients the same, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made it for supper tonight...the only different thing I did was to substitute crushed red pepper for the cheese. It was so delicious...I like the way it stays a little bit soupy. I will be making this recipe instead of the one I've been cooking for 40 yrs. Thank-You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Great recipe! but when it comes to goulash add anything and it going to be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danas
Home Town: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
LOVE IT!!! I read the reviews before makingi this and they were very helpful. Hubby loved it. I used a can of dice tomatoes w/orgeano, basil and garlic and a can of regular diced tomatoes, also added cayenne pepper, worchestershire sauce, salt and black pepper. After it was done and still hot, sitrred in some shredded cheddar cheese. Defnitely is a keeer, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
All I can taste is the gooey, thick tomato. I'd leave out all but the stewed tomatoes and add additional spices to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States