Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Sorry, but I did not like it. Should have cooked macaroni seperate cause took forever to get done. Tomatoe paste too much tomatoe. Guess I just think more of a spagetti sauce for goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it came out great. The macaroni was cooked before I realized it was cooked, but I caught it before it became mushy. I love the ratio of simplicity of the ingredients, all of which are easy to keep on hand, compared to the complexity and universal appeal of the flavor, which was high. Even my two-year-old, who does not usually care for pasta with marinara or meat sauce, asked for three helpings of this and devoured them all. This is going into the regular rotation for sure. I'll have to load up on chili powder and paprika the next time I hit a co-op! NOTE: I plan to try to sneak vegetables in here next time and see how that goes. I'm thinking a cup of steamed carrot and spinach puree, and some diced bell pepper. It works with meatloaf, so I figure I'll give it a try here. Excellent recipe as-is, though! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I think it's a fine goulash. For once, I didn't change the recipe and made it exactly as stated. Just now tasted it and am reminded of when I was a kid. I don't think anything needs changing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was awful...very bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was a cheap easy meal that filled our bellies. Other than that though, it was not anything to rave about. I cooked the pasta separately and added a few more spices and it was still bland. We are happy to be full, but I won't be making this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good! Everyone in the family really liked it. Very easy and very quick to make. I recommend adding the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Up here in New England, we call this "American Chop Suey." I cook a big batch of it in a 6 ½ quart Dutch oven on the stove. I brown 2 lbs. of lean ground chuck with finely chopped garlic, chopped vidalia onion and red pepper flakes. Then I add a 32oz. carton of Swanson beef broth, a 28oz. can of good quality petite diced tomatoes (Hunt's or Cento) with a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. I add spices like Italian seasoning, bay leaf, black pepper and a couple of Tbs. of soy sauce. I let it simmer for 20 minutes, (covered) then add chopped bell peppers and another chopped vidalia onion. Let simmer (covered) for another 10 minutes then add raw elbow macaroni. Simmer 5 minutes more then turn off the heat and let stand, covered, for 15 minutes. The macaroni absorbs the the broth and comes out perfectly Al dente, along with the pepper and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I use a can of rotel instead of stewed tomatoes to spice it up a little and I add a can of red beans, can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
forgot the hot sauce!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I use Hunts tomato sauce 28 or 32 oz and 1 sm. can of diced tomatoes and 1 glove minched garlic. I also add a good size chunk of veleveeta cheese (1/3 of a small box of velveeta) I also cook an entire 1 lb. box of pasta then add to the sauce. I know, more like Italian Goulsah than Hungarian, but the taste is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States