Goulash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Used pureed fire-roasted tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and rotel instead of diced. Really good flavor, maybe needs a little more spices. It would be easy to sneak in veggies and no one would realize it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great recipe. Yes, it may be a little bland, but it is a classic comfort food recipe. Reminds me of the goulash I had as a child with home-canned tomatoes. I've made it with and without the tomato paste and I prefer it without. The key to this recipe is to add a little water if needed, do not overcook the noodles, and add salt & pepper to taste. There is no need to cook the noodles separately, just keep checking them to make sure they don't get overcooked & mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Good recipe other than the pasta was mushy so I'd look separately and add salt & pepper to taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was ok. I actually added some corn and used one can of rotel instead of the tomatoes. Tomatoe sauce instead of paste. Not bad but nothing great actually. Will only make again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I grew up with a babysitter who would make this for lunch once or twice a week with a side of cheap white bread slathered with Gold-N-Soft margerine. A family favorite because it's freaking easy, filling and total comfort food. Couple twists we use to make it our own is add a couple tbsp. italian seasoning, brown sugar, and fire roasted tomatoes. Also good with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I give it a four star if you add your own preferred spices, a cup of water and some sugar to counteract the bitterness left behind by using tomato paste.Also adding a bit more veggies in this dish wouldn't hurt either. Without them, I would think it would be a very bland and way too thick meat sauce. So it would be only a 3 star for us at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I took the idea of this recipies and made it my own. I added fresh tomaots instead of canned. Also added peas, peppers, and mushrooms. I also baked it with cheese. This recipie was alot of fun due to how much you can personalize it. Somthing you can just throw the leftovers into
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyrah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The recipe was OK but quite bland. I think next time I'll add some green chilis and cheddar cheese and probably forgo the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Lately I've been craving the goulash that was served in my school cafeteria growing up. I didn't modify any of the recipe and was surprised out how closely it tasted to what I remember. Nothing fancy, but it's satisfying, cheap, and is almost better leftover. I may add a little homemade tomato sauce next time so the leftovers aren't so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is a pretty good basic recipe. I have tried it as is, and have tweaked it as well, and have found that I like this modification: instead of stewed tomatoes, I use one 15 oz can of tomato sauce and one 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes. I also add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, 2 teaspoons of cooking wine, a teaspoon of kosher salt and another 1/4 cup of onion. After I drain the meat when it is just turned brown, I saute the garlic and onion in about a teaspoon of the fat until translucent and then add the meat back in to brown a little more. I add all the ingredients to the meat. I cook the macaroni separate until almost al dente and then let it cook gently in the ragu until it is softer and the residual water is gone. I find this makes a tasty goulash that adults and kids will like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHALOZBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States