'Got Some Crust' Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Easy to make and full of flavor. I might tone down the bread crumbs just a notch, they seem to take away from the flavor of the macaroni. All in all, this is definitely something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChesherKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
MMMMMMM! So good! Thanks for the recipe, the topping really put it over the top! WTG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I tried this one with a few substitutions. I used saltine crackers instead of bread crumbs, as well as used shell pasta instead of macaroni. It turned out fairly nice (I LOVED the crust) but I didn't adore the grainy sort of texture that comes with using cheddar in a sauce. Maybe next time I'll use American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Ok taste but the bread crumbs either sucked up all the moisture or just made it have the consistency of sawdust. I would alter this recipe. The TASTE is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought this was a "4", but Mr. LTH said it's a "5", AND said it's better than MY mac & cheese (yeah, we're pretty sure he ate a lot of lead paint as a child...), so "5" it is! As you can tell by my photo, I did NOT top w/bread crumbs & cheese and bake, per personal preference...I prefer my mac & cheese all ooey and gooey and not dryish and baked. (Though, if you prefer the baked variety, this would be fabulous that way, too, I'm sure!) I followed the recipe pretty close, though I did up the worchestershire sauce, mustard, and Red Hot a bit. I used Crackerbarrel 2% extra sharp white cheese for my cheese and 1% milk. This recipe caught my eye because it's very similar to my families recipe and I've never seen one so close (I don't use onion or Red Hot or parm, I use evaporated milk, and make my white sauce in the nuker) so I decided to give it a whirl. I still prefer mine (not a surprise since I've been eating it for close to 30 years!), but this is def a close second in my book (and I like that it's on AR for easy reccing to others). TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made a recipe and a half of this. Instead of adding more elbow macaroni, I added some sauteed carrot, shredded zucchini, garlic and peppers which I cooked with the onion. (I'm all about sneaking in some veggies where I can. As long as it's covered in cheese, the kids will eat just about anything.) I tried the sauce after adding all the cheese and added about a cup or so more. I took LTH's recommends and used Crackerbarrel's 2% white cheddar, which I found on the cheap at Grocery Outlet. For the topping, I made my own bread crumbs out of day old bread and pulsed it in the blender until it was a fine crumb. Two pieces made just enough. Good sturdy recipe. I always add a little dijon and Frank's hot sauce to my homemade mac, so that is always a nice touch. This is a make again. EDITED: After baking for an hour, the flavors really melded well. I'm glad I made extra because we really ate the heck out of this (even my oldest son had two bowls!) and there's enough for leftovers for lunch tomorrow. It's earned it's last star. AND, it's even better the next day. I warmed it in the microwave and didn't have any issues with gloppy cheese or globs of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
A good basic recipe for Mac and Cheese, with a few wonderful additions! I enjoyed the addition of onions, but I also added fresh garlic to the mix. I agree with others that I don't prefer the grainy taste of cheddar cheese, so perhaps I'll do a white cheddar cheese next time. The topping didn't add much, in our opinion, but it was still good. Kids are eating it, so that's all that matters!! I like to try recipes as they are before I slip in healthy additions, but like Lambchop's Mom, I'll slip in some veggies in there next time. I usually slip in ones that match the color of whatever I'm making, so they don't notice them there. I'll chop it up in my Vita-Mix blender, which gets it real fine, and then slip it in the mix. Kids hardly ever notice! I'll make this again in the sense that I'll add what we like, take from other recipes we like, and add our healthy goodies to make our own homemade Mac and Cheese. :) Thank you, Gallis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I admit it--I left out the onions! Just too big a departure for me I guess :) We liked this. I reduced the overall butter in this recipe to 2 tbsp, which I used to make the roux. It doesn't need the butter anywhere else (though naturally, it TASTES better if you use butter where indicated.) I added some pre-cooked bacon bits in with the topping, and sprayed the topping with Pam, but really it needed a little butter in the topping (and not in the other places!) to moisten the bread crumbs. I'll make this again, we really liked the blend of spices in this one. P.S. If you're having trouble with graininess, make sure you DO NOT BOIL THE CHEESE SAUCE. That creates the graininess. In fact you can turn the heat off at the point where you add the cheeses to melt them, the residual heat will do the job without any risk of boiling. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catldy79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
First off, I made this for my parents last night -- my father, who is not a big macaroni and cheese fan, LOVED this. I did make some changes however. As another reviewer did, I used crushed Saltine crackers instead of bread crumbs -- I think this added an extra yummy flavor. The cheese I used were a bit different. I used Romano instead of Parmesan, and I also added about a cup of mozzarella. After I put the cracker crumb/cheese mixture on top, i brushed with butter for a little added moisture. It was delicious -- no leftovers, and they already want me to make it again one day later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua Eyes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States