'Got Some Crust' Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was YUUUMMMMY!! I made it with different pasta, and it didn't turn out to be enough, so I had to bake it in a smaller pan, but it was SO GOOD. Both my husband and I wanted to eat the entire batch (if we could fit that much in our tummmie). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made some changes/omissions to this. I used a low carb pasta, low carb baking mix for the flour, soy milk. I omitted the Tabasco because I don't like spicy, and I didn't use the Worcestershire sauce because I didn't have any. And for the top crust I did not use the bread crumbs, just the cheese. I was kind of weary about it at first because the cheese sauce didn't look too appetizing. However the end result was pretty good. Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I am a huge fan of mac and cheese with breadcrumbs; so, I was psyched to try this new-to-me recipe. It was very bland and the bit of flavor it did have was just not appealing to me. Not even sure how to doctor this one to make it more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Too dry! Liked the crust thou, Added some garlic and pepper to the crust and some more real good parmesan cheese too. Would make again but would make more sauce and add some mike to the ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendocino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this a few nights ago. My husband thought it was awesome. I did switch the 1/2 of the cheddar cheese with velveeta. I also sliced polish sausage and mixed with it and had some peas and carrots on the side. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved it! Left out the breadcrumbs and put extra cheese inside. It was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The sauce was really tasty and I loved the crunch from the breadcrumb topping. However, there was too much breadcrumb and the sauce wasn't creamy enough. I would add more milk and way downsize the amount of breadcrumbs. I skipped the onions, but added onion and garlic powders, and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMQ
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this last night for me and my boyfriend. I made half the amount of the recipe, and I used a blend of cheddar and mozzarella, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I enjoyed it but I found it a little bit bland and I thought there was too much of the breadcrumbs. My boyfriend on the other hand really liked it, and he is a very picky eater (I was surprised he ate it seeing as how it wasn’t Kraft dinner). I would definitely make it again but I think I would use a stronger cheese then I did. I would also maybe try adding in peas or something to add another texture and flavour to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very good! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and added a little butter to the top for the last five minutes of cooking. Also I ran out of cheddar cheese, so I used some montery jack....very tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Woohoo this was delicious! I've been using another Mac & Cheese recipe from this site for awhile, but I wanted to try a new one. This is my new go to Mac & Cheese recipe!! The only changes I made were adding some chopped red & green peppers, a few cloves of minced garlic and a little swiss cheese for some extra creaminess!! This was also easier to make than other cheese sauces! Everyone should give this a try! PS~I agree with one of the other reviewers. There was no way this could feed 12, at least not in my family! I cut the recipe in half, but my husband and I alone did not leave any leftovers. That would mean together we ate 6 servings...I certainly don't think we did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States