'Got Some Crust' Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Outstanding! I doubled the noodles and it was perfect!! I substituted Dijon for the yellow mustard and only used 1/4 tsp white pepper, no salt. Added bacon because it makes everything better!! My entire family raved!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Not a fan for this as an "as is" recipe. Too bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I love mac n cheese so im always trying to find a new recipe for it. so I found this one and I thought it was pretty good I like the crust for the cheese. but to be honest I did add a little more hot sauce because my family loves spicy stuff. but over all it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was a good recipe. I wasn't over the moon about it, but I do think it's a solid meal to feed the family, and I don't have any serious objections or complaints about it. I didn't have any trouble with the grittiness that some others described. I do agree with other reviewers that this calls for too many breadcrumbs. Many of mine were left uncooked because the layer was so thick. I didn't have any mustard, so I skipped that part, but it still had good flavor. I did not think it was bland like another reviewer suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this exactly as written, but the crust per se was a flop. I wonder if the recipe meant to use the larger soft or fresh bread crumbs. I used Progresso dry bread crumbs which were pretty fine in size, and the crust didn't come together at all - it was mostly just a dry layer of crumbs on top of the macaroni and cheese. This recipe has potential if that could get fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Finally the Mac and Cheese I've been looking for. I don't care for creamy Mac and Cheese! Left out the hot sauce and was delicious!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanneb61

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Delicious cheesy-ness! I've made this four times now. The first time I made it just as the recipe instructed and found there to be too much crust. So the next few times I just didn't use all of the mixture. This is a fan favorite for pot lucks and holidays. To spice it up for my family, I mixed in some cayenne pepper sprinkles when it's time to mix in the white pepper. Loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenabean77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The whole family really enjoyed this recipe. I took others' advice and only used half of the called-for bread crumbs. I also mixed some melted butter into the crumbs prior to mixing in the cheese. This made the crust crispy but not dry and full of flavor. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this is the best mac and cheese i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Was not a huge fan too much cheese which made it taste really greasy and fattening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States