Gorton (French-Canadian Pork Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Where can you buy 2 pds pork fat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My memere used Allspice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
- The art of making Cretons has been handed-down in my family for 6 generations (french canadian), and I continue to be amazed at all the recipe variations and names for this spreadable delicacy. :-) Hints: don't underestimate the need to use a potato masher (vigorously, against the bottom of the pan) every 15mins in an effort to create a spreadable end product. And, ensure a pot of simmering water on the stove when adding water to the cretons. It's important to add hot water vs. water from the tap. I sincerely hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
my hubby loves it ...he grew up having this at 'camp' ...needless to say it's very nostalgic for him ...he loves coming in and smelling this simmering on the woodstove ....likes it for breakfast on toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Ya it's cretons. Never heard Gorton anywhere ever. Maybe in the Eastern US someone calls it that. My family always made it with cinnamon and cloves. It's ugly but it's good! Even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is amazing. My oldest son's grandpa used to make this from whole pork shoulder and at least one other cut of pork. He cooked them forever. When it came to the rest of the preparation no one was allowed to be there. It truly was a secret family recipe. He promised to write it down one day. :( Unfortunately,neither he or his wife ever did. My son, now 45 years old and I are going to try this for sure. Thank you Lil1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fungrammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
A very dear friend and "second Mom" introduced this wonderful spread to me 45 years ago. She has long since passed and she was heavy on my mind a couple weeks ago and the "cahhton" came to mind. I asked some French co-workers if they knew what it was ( I wasn't even sure if that was what I was remembering!) no one knew. Trusty ol' computer; typed in French meat spread and there it was!! Couldn't believe it!! Went out an bought the ingredients and the smell of it cooking brought me back to the little kitchen and that wonderful little lady so many, many years ago. Thank you Lil1, I will be making this every week and never forget it again. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I grew up on this and over the years, living in the US the last 40 years, I simply forgot about it. Well I out of the blue had a craving for! On a whim decided to see if anyone had a recipe for it so I thank you so much for posting! We Kanucks also called it cretons, but whatever you call it, it's awesome! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My French-Canadian grandmother use to make this and give it away in plastic containers for Christmas. As kids, we always looked forward to that morning toast with "cahton" on it. She gave the guarded "secret" recipe to my sister (I think she also used allspice) who later passed it to my niece who has also guarded the recipe. SO I was very pleased to find it on-line. Can't wait to share it with my family and grandkids this Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My mom made this when I was growing up in Maine. She died when I was 22 (I'm 65 now) and had never written her recipes down. I just discovered this recipe yesterday watching an episode of Drive Ins, Diners and Dives and am making it right this minute. I hope it's just like hers - it sure smells like it. Wow - this is really something... I could just cry. We just ate in on toast and it was wonderful. Over the years, I thought it was "head cheese" and was put off by it so I never bothered to look it up on the internet. I am so grateful to have found it. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States