Gorton (French-Canadian Pork Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It may be "creton" in some areas, but our 83 year old french canadian grandmother has always called it "gorton" ( cahh-ton... and she adds an s at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yes in New England we call it gorton. My pepere was French Canadian and my memere made this every Christmas in large batches, put them into tupperware containers and gave them away as gifts. Everyone loved her gorton. In my mind it is not Christmas without it! This is almost exactly like her recipe except she used allspice instead of the cloves and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My mom made this when I was growing up in Maine. She died when I was 22 (I'm 65 now) and had never written her recipes down. I just discovered this recipe yesterday watching an episode of Drive Ins, Diners and Dives and am making it right this minute. I hope it's just like hers - it sure smells like it. Wow - this is really something... I could just cry. We just ate in on toast and it was wonderful. Over the years, I thought it was "head cheese" and was put off by it so I never bothered to look it up on the internet. I am so grateful to have found it. Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Just so you are aware, its "Creton" but the recipe looks good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My mom always made this for us growing up as kids, over the years she stopped doing it. I made it this evening and my husband can't wait to try it tommorrow. She always called it cretons(pronounced kahh tuhh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
- The art of making Cretons has been handed-down in my family for 6 generations (french canadian), and I continue to be amazed at all the recipe variations and names for this spreadable delicacy. :-) Hints: don't underestimate the need to use a potato masher (vigorously, against the bottom of the pan) every 15mins in an effort to create a spreadable end product. And, ensure a pot of simmering water on the stove when adding water to the cretons. It's important to add hot water vs. water from the tap. I sincerely hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Ya it's cretons. Never heard Gorton anywhere ever. Maybe in the Eastern US someone calls it that. My family always made it with cinnamon and cloves. It's ugly but it's good! Even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This is very similar to my Mom & Memere's recipe. I am making some right now. The only thing is that I buy my ground pork already kind of fatty already. If it looks lean I just don't make any. My Mom has pork butts ground up. So we don't buy seperate pork fat. Anyhow, also we do not add the ground cloves, nutmeg and also a little cinnamon in until the last 10 mins. of cooking. And I have found that if I cook it way to much it has a dried out flavor. Don't confuse the melted fat in there with the water. I kept cooking to try to reduce the "water" before I realized it was liquid fat. Now after 20 or so years making it myself I feel confident that it will come out great. (Nobody ever measured, so I had to experiment.) Also, we add cinnamon. Use one of those electric hand blenders while it cools down a bit in the pan before pouring into containers to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Ordway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was also a Christmas recipe my Grammy used to make. Here kids would fight over who got to take the leftovers home. I make it in a crockpot with a bone in boston butt. Yellow onions, salt & pepper cinnamon and ground clove 1/4 tsp per lb. pour in a few cups of water and cook on high til the bone pulls right out about 8-10 hours. Drain most of the water and Mash with electric mixer. Spoon into Pyrex dishes and refrigerate for at least 4 hours. Made this last thanksgiving in MASS. And had a bunch of frenchies (I'm a Beaulieu) saying this was the best they have had. It's great on Hawaiian sweet rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Beaulieu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is amazing. My oldest son's grandpa used to make this from whole pork shoulder and at least one other cut of pork. He cooked them forever. When it came to the rest of the preparation no one was allowed to be there. It truly was a secret family recipe. He promised to write it down one day. :( Unfortunately,neither he or his wife ever did. My son, now 45 years old and I are going to try this for sure. Thank you Lil1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fungrammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Crispy Pork Belly

See how to make easy, crispy pork belly at home.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States