Gorgonzola and Wild Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe. To lighten it up with all the great flavor, you can use fat free evaporated milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
this was great! we made a few changes: fresh chanterelles (1 cup), no cream, and double the gorgonzola. We used black truffle oil instead of white. Served with cabernet sauvignon, crusty bread and a salad, this was a gourmet meal. For the lazy cooks out there like me, 12 oz. of arborio rice is 1.5 cups, and one quart of stock is 4 cups. Next time I will add a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is truly delicious! The combination of flavors is amazing!!! Five Star!! I did not have truffle oil, so instead I used a little bit of olive oil and more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Fantastic flavor--the gorgonzola (I used blue cheese since I had it around) adds a subtle delicacy to it. Very fancy tasting. Any sorts of mushrooms could work with it. I used locally grown oyster, crimini and shiitakes, fresh. Added a bit of fresh rosemary with the cheese and skipped the cream. Would probably use the cream in colder months, but in summer it seems too heavy. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was great. I made it as directed except I didn't have any shallots and the package of dried chanterelles was 3/4 ounce...2 ounces would have been way too much for the amount of rice (and expensive, the 3/4 ounce package was almost $5.00!) I found that 1 quart of broth wasn't enough and I ended up using about 2 more cups than called for. After tasting, I added another tablespoon of gorgonzola and cream. Perfect! If I make it again, I think I'll use mixed wild mushrooms or porcinis for a stronger mushroom taste and a little more truffle oil added after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was very good. i subbed in .5 oz of dried Chanterelles and .5 oz of dried porcinis. and instead of fresh white buttons i used fresh brown mushrooms i think they were Crimini mushrooms. I agree with the other reviewer that fresh mushrooms would improve the taste. But it was delicious and got great reviews from my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
what a delicious recipe! we used all fresh chestnut mushrooms, and used extra truffle oil at the end to enhance the truffle flavour even more (we're big truffle fans). completely forgot to season it, and never noticed! yum. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This Recipe was wonderful. We subbed goat cheese for the gorgonzola and doubled the truffle oil. We had it on Valentines day as a side with Lobster and asparagus, best Valentine's meal ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshineboy78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was tasty, but I think that next time I will use all fresh mushrooms - the dried chantarelles overwhelmed the dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is very good but I prefer the gourmet mushroom risotto recipe on this site also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States